Best emulated english Fire Emblem on the DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Satangel, Dec 15, 2007.

Dec 15, 2007
  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    What game of the Fire Emblem series, can be emulated on NES/SNES emulator for the DS, and can be found on the netz with an English patch?
     
  2. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Too impatient to wait for Fire Emblem DS? [​IMG]
     
  3. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know Fire Emblem Gaiden NES is 97% complete but the project is dead now but theres only little things missing and is completely playable.
    http://www.rpgclassics.com/trans/nest/fembgaiden.shtml

    The excellent Final Fantasy V SNES 100%
    http://www.rpgclassics.com/trans/snest/ff5.shtml

    They are the only ones that I know of that have either full or near complete translation that I know of. The 1st NES, Fire Emblem: Ankoku Ry? to Hikari no Tsurugi game is being remade for the DS with online if you are interested but thats way off for now.
     
  4. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Got that right [​IMG]
    Loved the series on the GBA emulator, but lacking a slot2 cart, so cant play them on my DS.


    @ Hadrian, big tnx to all your findings and work!

    Checking it out now.
     
  5. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wow, that's awesome! I can't wait!

    Btw, Satangel, if you still want to play using an emulator you might want to try Fire Emblem 6 (I think it was 6... anyway, the first for GBA). There is a very good fan translation of it.
     
  6. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium

    Yeah, that remake is the game I most hype for the year 2008 of DS [​IMG]
    Its in Hadrain his thread of the games of 2008, part two.
    Link in his sig [​IMG]

    K, gonna check Fire Emblem 6 out [​IMG]
     
  7. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Fire Emblem games are easy to run, very difficult to translate.

    The three GBA ones play alright on my old slot2 cart and that emulator for PSP too.
     
  8. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ive found the Thracia one, quite good translated.
    And Seisen no Keifu Ive also found.
    They all worked with jSNES emu on the pc, hopefully snemulds will do the same thing.
     
  9. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Okay, on my DS, the NES version worked quite good.
    Also SNES Thracia worked.

    But Seasen no Keifu doesnt work...
    But the rest is quite good.
     
  10. animethunder

    Newcomer animethunder Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    MapleIsland
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know the release date for Fire Emblem DS?
     
  11. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Its still TBA 2008, and a US version is not even announced...
     
  12. adyum

    Newcomer adyum Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    How do you patch the game, the link is dead on their site.
     
  13. kratosauron0

    Newcomer kratosauron0 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.romhacking.net/trans/146/
    If you haven't gotten it already. There's also an addendum, because the original patch was so bad.
    For patching, I think you have to hard patch your rom file. Use IPSWin (google it) to patch your file. Since there's an addendum, patch the original one, then patch the addendum on top of it.
    For your benefit, IPSwin is available here: http://zerosoft.zophar.net/ipswin.htm

    If you can soft patch, though, do so. Check the specs on your emulator for that info.
     

Share This Page