been away since v4 till now v4.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cv65user, Nov 14, 2009.

Nov 14, 2009
  1. cv65user
    OP

    Newcomer cv65user Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I was originally from yafaze. After googling to find out alternative and links to as what happened, I realised. I have been out the scene for months as i thought it would be a soft mod and forget but I think its time to bring my WII up to scratch.

    it was bought new dec 2009 with FW 3.2E , manual updated to FW v4 then used hackmii installer to get HBC v103. then after confirming with yafaze that the WII FW update v4.1 was only the option for motion sensor it was safe to do so and it updated it. so my wii is FW v4.1 with updated HBC v106 . with cios rev14 using usb loader gx with an Iomega 1tb external USB drive. its also got bootmii in boot2 .

    I would like to update it to:
    FW v4.2 via system menu ?
    and cios rev 15 via HBC - i thought cios rev 14 was going to be the last?
    then update usb loader gx dol
    in that order? - will there be any other IOS / CIOS files need updating/patching?

    Asides a different issue, I have mplayer channel installed which maps to mplayer v075 on my 1gb sd card. If i select a channel beside my mplayer or HBC , etc or any other channel for example. It brings up the channel full screen . If i then use the + / - minus buttons to scroll channels back or forth towards to the mplayer channel it shows the mplayer channel splash screen and then my WII will freeze until i turn wii off/on from the wii power button. I presume this is a fault with the mplayer channel ? Any one else have same issue / resolution? But strangely if i select mplayer channel direct and start it . it loads mplayer perfectly.
     
  2. ju421019

    Newcomer ju421019 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
  3. cv65user
    OP

    Newcomer cv65user Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    What it seems is you cannot update straight from WII fw v4.1e to WII fw v4.2e as WII fw v4.2 will looks for where HBC is installed via its title number and keep deleting it everytime you reboot your WII.

    So what we need to do is run through the guides again as from scratch. Or update all the apps to - bootmii (v2 beta i beleive?) , hbc v106 , dvdx . The new versions have new title id numbers so the new WII FW v.4.2 will not be able to find these and keep deleting it and then only update WII FW v.4.2 then downgrade to what seems ALOT of IOS - of which this bit i am confused at the moment . - more reading and research to follow .

    Ill probaly keep it on cios rev 14 due to the reports I have heard of cios rev 15 (being the latest)
     
  4. stevee

    Newcomer stevee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would second this recommendation. Tried and tested (many many many times). Usual rules apply, read ALL isntructions until you are clear and don't skip ANY steps. If its in the tutorial, its there for a reason.
     
  6. cv65user
    OP

    Newcomer cv65user Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    i am trying to get my games load from disc channel rather then the neo gamma disc channel . i get disc error but it works perfect in neo gamma disc channel . so is dop ios a replacement for cioscorp ?
     
  7. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    No dop-IOS is nothing like cIOSCORP. Putting the trucha bug back on an IOS as they technically officially were on 3.2 and below =/= turning an IOS into a cIOS. If you REALLY need to load from the disc channel then you need to get cIOSCORP (3.5 at the moment). But if your games are already working fine with NeoGamma, you're basically going to be turning all of your official IOS's into something like Waninkoko's cIOS installed to IOS249 just so you can click one box over and load it exactly the same way in the normal disc channel, but with a little animation in the box.
     

Share This Page