Battery indicator turns red

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ftpyst, Sep 30, 2009.

Sep 30, 2009

Battery indicator turns red by ftpyst at 2:49 PM (1,131 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. ftpyst
    OP

    Newcomer ftpyst Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I just got an Acekard 2. It works great, except for one thing: It seems whenever the card loads from/writes to the microSD, e.g. loading a ROM, the battery indicator LED turns red. Sometimes it returns to green after a while, but often it stays red until I either turn the device off or enter hibernation. This happens even if my Nintendo DS is fully charged.

    This can't be normal behavior, right? Is there a solution or is my card broken? Any help appreciated!

    (I have a Nintendo DS Lite. The microSD is a Kingston 4GB SDHC.)
     
  2. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    check to see if it is a real AK2. Pictures of real and fake on acekard.com
    Does this happen with other carts?
    also if you can check if it does it on another ds, might be your battery is not putting our the correct voltage .
     
  3. Whipple

    Member Whipple GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    It could be an indication that there is a problem with that card drawing too much current and drawing the battery voltage down. I would recommend trying a different, known good AceKard in your unit and see if that one exhibits the same behavior. Be careful, if your Acekard is drawing enough amperage to cause the battery indicator to turn red, it is close to popping an internal fuse that will require either a return to NOA or a fairly difficult disassembly process to get to that fuse.

    If a different Acekard functions normally in your unit, I would return your Acekard to the vendor for replacement.
     
  4. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    i think it's because your machine....
    check if your AK is the real one search on GBATemp there was post that shows the FAKE acekard...
     
  5. ftpyst
    OP

    Newcomer ftpyst Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Will try this ASAP.

    Thanks!
     
  6. ftpyst
    OP

    Newcomer ftpyst Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Will try this too. I'll probably end up going back to my vendor trying with a different Acecard/device.

    BTW, I just remembered that my DS is a Japanese import. Does this have any significance?

    Thanks again!
     
  7. Whipple

    Member Whipple GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, being a Japanese version should not make a difference, at least as far as the battery indicator problem is concerned.

    You might want to remove your SD card and try your empty Acekard in your DS to see if anything changes. There is a slight possibility that the issue could be a defective SD card. Since you SD card is from Kingston, a known manufacturer of quality memory chips, it is unlikely. However, counterfeit Kingston chips occasionally appear in the marketplace.
     
  8. ftpyst
    OP

    Newcomer ftpyst Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I went back to my vendor, who let me try another Acecard. On my DS Lite the problem occurred exactly the same with both cards while on another DS Lite both cards seemed to work fine, even with my own microSD inserted (I was unable to try with another microSD as the clerk didn't have one prepared).

    This is looking more and more like a problem with my DS Lite, which as I said earlier was imported from Japan around the day of release. I'm going to borrow another DS from an acquaintance later this week to establish that the problem does not appear over gradual use.

    Not sure yet whether this affects actual battery life or if it's just a glitch with the indicator.
     
  9. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Have you replaced the battery of your dslite? If it is the original battery it might be dying and can't consistently supply the extra current:(amperage) to run the acekard.
     

Share This Page