Banner Brick 3.1 help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bizounourz, Jul 15, 2009.

Jul 15, 2009

Banner Brick 3.1 help by bizounourz at 2:59 PM (1,828 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. bizounourz
    OP

    Newcomer bizounourz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Hi Guys,

    I have a big problem with my Wii. I have installed a bad .wad and now my Wii is unusable. When I boot the Wii, I can only press A and after, the screen is black.

    It seems to be a "banner brick".

    My settings are :

    - Wii 3.1(EUR)
    - No modchip installed
    - Twilight Princess Hacked but the save was deleted on the wii [​IMG]
    - CIos36 rev. 10
    - Starfall not installed
    - SaveMiiFrii (with a GC controller)

    I tried to boot from Mario Kart, SSBB and WiiFit using the SaveMiiFrii, my version number appears on the screen but it doesn't boot on the DVD.

    What can I do now ? Do I have to install a modchip or not ?

    Maybe I need to use a new game with a 3.2 or 3.3 upgrade (all the tested games are with 3.1) on it but I don't know which game it is (Animal Crossing, Raving Rabbids TV Show) ?

    Could you please help me ?

    Thanks !!!

    BizBiz.
     
  2. pspmte

    Member pspmte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok i will help you

    First you need a mod chip installed or flatmii

    What you need to do is use savemii (savemii free) to get into recovery mode

    Then you need wadmanager autoboot disc (modchip) or (.iso) flatmii

    Then install systemmenu290 1040.wad( 3.2) and iso30 1040.wad

    That will fix it for you
     
  3. bizounourz
    OP

    Newcomer bizounourz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Hi,

    Thank you for your reply ;o))

    I have read on further forums that I could do it without modifying my Wii with a modchip... but only with an orginal game (with a upgrade > 3.2, 3.3 or 3.4 on it) and a SaveMiiFrii.

    Could you please confirm that there is no other way but installing a modchip?

    I would like to know which game contains v.3.2 or 3.3 or 3.4?

    Regards,

    BizBiz.
     
  4. Spidy1000

    Member Spidy1000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you have Preloader installed you would not need an original disc or a mod chip, just put the wad (search the web for them) in your wad dir and have preloader boot into HBC. Then run wadmanager, install the wads and after that you can do an upgrade to 4.0 again. Worked fine on a bannerbricked Wii of my collegue
     
  5. bizounourz
    OP

    Newcomer bizounourz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply but I don't have preloader (or starfall, etc...) installed on my Wii.

    I just have the HBC (by the TPH) and that's all.

    I have just tried with another original game but it doesn't work... [​IMG]

    When I boot my Wii using the SaveMiiFrii, I can see on the right corner my version : 3.1(EUR) and then, the screen goes to a black screen... [​IMG]

    Do you know which original game has a upgrade to 3.2 or upper ?

    Thx ;o)
     
  6. Spidy1000

    Member Spidy1000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I dont know what game has the needed upgrade in it, sorry

    Are you not able to get into HBC at all? If you can, the steps i posted should work
     
  7. bizounourz
    OP

    Newcomer bizounourz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Unfortunately, I can't.

    The Wii start (in normal mode) but stops after pressing A button.

    In maintenance mode (SaveMiiFrii), it starts, have the version on the lower right corner (3.1(EUR)) and when trying to boot on RealStories (for example) or WiFit, the screen turns to black with nothing possible after.

    I think that as I don't have any modchip, it's not possible to boot on HBC DVD...

    Regards,

    BizBiz.
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    One thing: I'm pretty sure that updating your console won't help you recover from the brick. The bad channel wad will still be there even after you update. If you install a chip you might be able to run a Wad Manager disc and get rid of the offending channel with it.
     
  9. bizounourz
    OP

    Newcomer bizounourz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Before installing a modchip, I prefer trying to update the Wii.

    If it doesn't work, I'll modify it but I want to be sure that my solution is able to work or not.

    Thanks for your reply !
     
  10. bizounourz
    OP

    Newcomer bizounourz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Hi again,

    It seems that I don't have other solution but installing a modchip.

    I'll do it.

    Thanks guys !!!!
     
  11. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    If a banner brick permits you to update from a disc using recovery mode I don't know...

    But don't do that... doing that especially going up to 3.3 or higher system menu will make it harder for you to fix things... (>3.2 menus use ios that doesn't have trucha bug, you can't boot homebrew discs with them)

    Just do these simple things...

    First of all you need to install a modchip, that's a must, then

    1. Find the autoboot wad manager iso
    2. Get into recovery mode using gc controller trick (savemiifrii)
    3. Boot that and remove the offending wad

    or

    1. Download homebrew channel iso template (http://hackmii.com/2008/08/open-source-apploader-iso-template/)
    2. Patch it as autoboot using a simple tool called bootme (http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii_BootMe)
    3. Get into recovery mode using gc controller trick (savemiifrii)
    4. Now booting that iso you can either use wad manager or anytitle deleter from homebrew channel to delete the offending wad


    ps1: I swore I wouldn't help someone in these cases but I just can't help it...
     
  12. wiipro

    Newcomer wiipro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Your quote from other thread:
    Well it doesn't work with IOS 16, I just tested... It did work with IOS 249, and it should also work with 247... so you should first install a custom ios...

    here is for both,
    http://www.tepetaklak.com/data/title_lister_247.rar (for ios 247)
    http://www.tepetaklak.com/data/title_lister_249.rar (for ios 249)

    End of your quote

    WiiCrazy, I need some details for you. I was reading your other posts. here are my questions:

    I am a new this "Title Lister" world. Please help me:
    1. Please let me know how to run this "Title Lister".
    2. What are the pre-requisites to run "Title Lister".
    3. Can it do some harm to Wii Functionality?
    4. How to run it?



    Can you publish the source code for "title_lister_249" also. What do you change and steps followed in original to convert it to 249 one? How do you compile the code and produce .dol file?
    (Just curious to know how all this is done)
     
  13. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    here is the sources of my mod : http://www.tepetaklak.com/data/title_lister.rar
    here is the original by bushing : http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/Title_Lister
     
  14. wiipro

    Newcomer wiipro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for explanation.

    I have few more questions. Please ..
    I have Homebrew Channel installed.
    1. How can I run this program on wii to list Titles.?
    2. What should be the structure of my SD card to this this application through homebrew channel?
    4. Is it safe?
    5. By default which IOS it is running if you do not sepcify "res = IOS_ReloadIOS(37);"?
    6. How do you create .elf out of code?
    7. How do you create .dol file?
     
  15. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Here we go...
    And here is my question, will the question count next time be 10?
     
  16. wiipro

    Newcomer wiipro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  17. wiipro

    Newcomer wiipro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot for nice explanation.
    Actually, My will is already soft-modded one.

    I wanted to see what all is installed there. It is on Sysytem menu 3.4U (LU63) with "Wii gator backup disc channel gamma 0.3" and "waninkoko USB Channel 1.5".

    My backup Disc channel works perfectly fine and I can play burnt discs.

    But my USB loader gives error (ret=-1) , showing mounting and with message "Press any button to restart wii" and this error message comes instantly. (I donot remember exact message, let me know if you need exact message)

    Please help me.
    What can be the problem?
    I tried it with both SD card and USB drive/Pen drive. When when I launch USB loader and select either USB/SD, it gives same message (ret=-1) and it comes instantly.
     

Share This Page