Backing Up Brawl

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by myclock, Jun 30, 2008.

Jun 30, 2008

Backing Up Brawl by myclock at 9:42 AM (2,240 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys, Im going to get Brawl tomorrow, but i want to keep it in as top condition as possible, hence i want to make a backup copy of it.

    I dont have any of the LG drives, so how do i do it?

    i did some googling, and i found this:

    http://www.wiinja.com/Foros/viewtopic.php?t=2109

    does this method work with any dual layer dvd burner?

    or can i use the SD card method?

    thanks
     
  2. AvEnGeR-X

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Then you mose just torrent it (download it). Easiest and quickest way. Don't worry, downloading it with torrents isn't illegal if you own it.
    I have also seen ways to copy it with a SD gecko device. Google it to find out more info. The first and second result seem the best. But I heard it's a long process and a little bit of a hassle.

    Once you have you ISO, I recommend using the guide I made to burn it to dual layer, the DVD9 part seems to work with PAL and NTSC versions of brawl.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=91738

    EDIT: You didn't mention what type of Brawl. I'm assuming PAL, but was it NTSC?
     
  3. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i am getting PAL brawl [​IMG]

    so does the method i mentioned above require you to have the LG burners? because there is no mention.

    thanks for the info mate [​IMG]
     
  4. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    That's a common misconception. Companies license you the content that's on the provided medium and nothing else.

    However, BitTorrent is very secure, so don't worry about it.



    As far as backing up Brawl is concerned, spring for a dual-layer disc, as you're going to want all the content.
     
  5. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    euhm BitTorrent isn't secure at all

    In fact, it's quite easy to get caught using it
     
  6. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i plan to burn to DVD-9 but im trying to find out how to backup the game first
     
  7. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea.. only if you dont know how to protect yourself
     
  8. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Depends how you use it....

    Going on a public tracker and not being careful about what you download is a good way of getting caught.

    I monitor what I download and who the peers are, and I've never had a problem.
     
  9. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    so anything anyone? i dont want to waste a few Dual layer discs, as they cost a bit of money...
     
  10. bubbleboy

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    A bit off topic but how do you monitor them?
     
  11. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can choose IP's to block and allow if you want.

    and in accordance to the question... [​IMG] i dont think you can back them up without an LG drive, but you can write them to a dvd without one...

    its weird to me too lol
     
  12. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    ok i tried doing SD card way using wiikey 1.3 config disc. doesnt work.. says you need to dump in 3 batches ( 0,1 and 2) so the program doesnt detect dual layer [​IMG]
     
  13. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    You're better off downloading it.

    It'll take just as much time, but you won't have to worry about making mistakes.
     
  14. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Just get a blacklist software them your Torrents are more secure, also depends on what country you live in.
    In sweden the anti-piracy agency must get 100% files for YOU, not a single byte can be from anyone else, then the proof is gone.
     
  15. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    i dont know what the hell you guys are on about with security and crap hey.. lets just talk about how i can backup brawl..

    ive given up now anyway.. guess im going to just kill my disc slowly... unless anyone can shed some light.
     
  16. memorris

    Newcomer memorris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only way is with a LG drives or a usbgecko
     
  17. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    lol "killing my disc slowly". After 6 years of constant use of Melee, it's still working perfectly, it's very unlikely that you'll ever be able to "kill" a pressed disc by intended usage.
     
  18. myclock
    OP

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm dam.. guess the SD card wont work then [​IMG]

    what would i be able to do with just the first layer? or wouldnt it work at all [​IMG]
     

Share This Page