1. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Okay so I got rxTools working last night and installed a few .cia's and when I powered off the system and powered it back on I realized it wasnt using rxMode patches to actually be able to open the installed cia's (I installed GBA VC Games to SysNand).

    So is there a way to make it so if I dot hold any button it would boot into rxTools sysnand rxMode and if I hold L wile turning on it would go into Homebrew still and if I hold R it wouldnt load rxTools or Homebrew just default sysnand?

    Is this possible?
     
  2. ZeD

    ZeD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Last edited by ZeD, Jan 4, 2016
  3. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Sweet ill check it out but how do I make it so if I press R while booting up that it will load into Homebrew instead? Or should I just not bother with that since im gonna be installing the HBL .cia idk anyway ill checkout the post thx!
     
  4. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok I checked out the tutorial and setup RxTools with ctr but when it boots up rxtools it then reboots up the boot.3dsx (Which is ctr) causing a boot loop of the BootManager but then freezes on a red screen. Any idea?
     
  5. ZeD

    ZeD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    In your root you should have this;
    boot.3dsx
    boot.cfg
    bootHBL.3dsx

    Did you instal MenuHax and choose type 2 loader (auto boot to the CtrBootManager?)
     
  6. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yup all of that is right. I have type 2 installed menuhax and have all the files and paths setup. I set type 2's button to R and when I turn on my system and after it loads CTR but before it loads rxTools if I hold R while rxTools boots up it goes into EmuNand fine how can I sort this out so it will just boot up fine withouth holding R?
     
  7. ZeD

    ZeD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Type 2 boots RxTools when no button is pressed - when you press R it should boot to SysNand? My button is L. If I press nothing the menu shows and auto boots to RxTools.

    Just start you 3DS, wait 3 seconds and it boots (thats how mine works)
     
    Last edited by ZeD, Jan 4, 2016
  8. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yh thats what happens with mient o apart fromI set it to R BUT when i boot up the CTR menu it autoboots rxTools but rxTools boots up the boot.3dsx making it reopen CTR Boot Manager making it again boot into rxTools then freeze on a red screen. But if I pwer on and wait for the CTR menu to show then from that point hold the type 2 button (R) it will actually boot up EmuNand not sure why this is happening. Any way I can sort this?
     
  9. ZeD

    ZeD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    It
    What I'd try is this;
    Remove the current boot and cry (save somewhere)
    Rename boothbl back to boot
    Uninstall menuhax
    Reinstall menuhax and ctr using the guide.

    Good luck
     
  10. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,147
    Country:
    United States
    i see your nands are still linked so your sysnand menuhax setup triggers in emunand as well
    if you unlink nands the problem should be gone
     
    ZeD likes this.
  11. ZeD

    ZeD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    That makes sense - hopefully this should sort the problem
     
  12. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Okay can u link me a tutorial?
    Btw what exactly does unlinking do?
     
  13. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,147
    Country:
    United States
    use these steps
    taken from this guide
    [Tutorial] Installing rxTools Custom Firmware - (Old 3DS and 2DS)
    btw it is the guide you should use for o3ds cfw installation
    if its a n3ds use this guide
    [Tutorial] How-to install a CFW on a 9.0-9.2 N3DS without CN/OOT
    or
    [Tutorial] Setting up 9.0 - 9.2 N3DS/XL for rxTools CFW, including emuNAND, coldboot, cia Manager

    lets your 3ds believe that your emunand is its own console
    so when complete your sysnand will create a new folder that its (downloaded) games (as well as any changes you made to system settings ect. will be stored in
    your current nnid/games settings will be associated with your emunand you may get an error when trying to access nnid afterwords if you get an error code when trying to use your nnid in emunand then use this link
     
    Last edited by wormdood, Jan 4, 2016
    samiam144 likes this.
  14. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    I got to the end step saying the things are unlinked do i need to bother doing the whole title.db stuff?
     
  15. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,147
    Country:
    United States
    only if you want/need to install cias on sysnand (the main use for this is to update to sysnand to 9.2/9.0 but you downgraded to 9.2/9.0 (time to update that sig btw) so there is no real reason to unless you want gba cias (as they must be installed to sysnand (destination sd if using fbi)and/or dsiware cias (as they must be installed to sysnand (destination nand if using fbi)
     
    Last edited by wormdood, Jan 4, 2016
  16. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yes I plan to use them in the future. ill setup the .db things. Bit confused doe like I have a few gba cias already do I go into rxtools and boot up into sysnand rxmode patch and open FBI and install the .cia file there? Or do I go into EmuNand and install them there?
     
  17. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,147
    Country:
    United States
    yes also if you install it to (in) sysnand only then you will only be able to play it from sysnand but . . . if you install it to (in) emunand as well then you can play it from emunand as well
    but the cia must be installed to (in) sysnand

    one more thing google bigbluemenu.cia (bbm) it is a simpler less intimidating cia installer than fbi install it using fbi then use bbm as your cia installer instead of fbi
     
    Last edited by wormdood, Jan 4, 2016
  18. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,198
    Country:
    Ireland
    Okay so I did everything unlinked etc but its still happening :/ I booted into CTR from the Menuhax type 2 seems like other ppl are having this issue too:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/black-screen-when-booting-rxtools-with-ctrbootmanager.408096/
     
  19. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,147
    Country:
    United States
    ok so one final thing we can try then boot rxtools select emunand and hold . . . what did you set it to "R" as soon as you select emunand and hold it untill it loads . . . ?
     
  20. Midvoc

    Midvoc Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Hi,

    I think i got the exact same problem as @ShinyMK . O3DS setup to coldboot into rxtools which automatically boots emunand. I downgraded from 10.3 to 9.2 as well prior to doing the tutorial.

    The screen glitches then shows the rxtools splash for a split second as normal

    But then it reboots - shows the glitch screen again - but it now moves onto and stays on red bottom screen and black on the top (crashed/needs reboot).

    I followed the same tutorial to set up a 2ds with same method and it worked no problems.

    tutorial link here ---> https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-installing-rxtools-custom-firmware-3ds-and-2ds.390867/

    thoughts and advice anyone?

    best regards
     
    Last edited by Midvoc, Jan 4, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Questions, AutoBoot, rxTools