Ar cards is this how they work?

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by evil goober, Apr 2, 2011.

Apr 2, 2011
  1. evil goober
    OP

    Newcomer evil goober Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter what picture is on the card its mostly the color.
    I been playing with the cards on my computer and here are my results.
    The last card I cant find a color for Samus Aran.

    try them out if you want.

    [​IMG]

    also a few others just for fun.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     


  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Hmm... If you think of it than it could be true.
    The 3DS probably looks at the color instead of the Image itself.
     
  3. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    Makes sense, the cameras probably aren't high enough quality to pick out high-detail images.
     
  4. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    The Samus Aran card appears to use a shade of Lavender.
    Exact RGB Value
    Red: 126
    Green: 131
    Blue: 173
    [​IMG][/p]
    I made a Samus Card with only the colour.
    [​IMG]
    This is rather interesting.

    I'm assuming the AR Games software has certain colours tied to certain characters. It shouldn't be too hard to add your own character if Nintendo wanted to add such an ability through a future update, then. All you would have to do is print an AR card of a certain colour and register a character to the AR card.
     
  5. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm...

    I wonder if, maybe, games can come with their own colored cards. The game could tell the 3DS to temporarily treat it as it's own AR?

    This could be very interesting.
     
  6. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,447
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Chroma key? Interesting. And pretty clever. It's much less hardware-intensive.

    Well, it's a software feature. Games could probably have cards of their own. You could program them to recognize colors, glyphs, letters, read QR codes...
     
  7. evil goober
    OP

    Newcomer evil goober Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I still get Pikmin maybe its just me.
     
  8. evil goober
    OP

    Newcomer evil goober Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    A few more test.
    Yes my mario is green

    Dissecting mario and you get kirby.
    [​IMG]

    cut in two.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    All my character AR cards are the same color. o__o OH! Ohhhhhhhhhhh! I get you now.
     
  10. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,447
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    goober, please rehost the images on some other site, like imgur or something. This one displays huge porn ads.
     
  11. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
  12. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,447
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
  13. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
  14. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    That's an interesting find.
    It makes sense.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Are you saying you want to get banned for knowingly including links with porn?

    'Cause Veho's trying to stop you. You might want to listen to him.
     
  16. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    he didnt post any links with porn. why would he get banned? that post doesnt mean he will post a link with porn.
     
  17. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't the one who posted the links that supposedly have ads to porn, nor would I have ever known they had porn because I have Adblock Plus, and I would hope most others do too. Please learn to keep in context.
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry if I directed it at the wrong person.

    The OP not having posted it on purpose doesn't mean it shouldn't be removed. Getting each person to install and use a browser plugin is not the answer.
     
  19. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    In a sense, it is actually, because it would never occur again on any other website. Though I have no idea why they used such a strange image host in the first place.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    How does getting Veho to install adblock make it so there's not links to porn in a forum thread?
    It doesn't.

    The root of the problem (the links themselves) needed to be fixed.
     

Share This Page