Anyone using a 16GB MicroSDHC with Cyclo?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by CoconutCake, Dec 22, 2008.

Dec 22, 2008
  1. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone been using a 16GB MicroSDHC with a Cyclo yet?

    What brand/class did you buy, and how well does it work? Do you get lag or freezing issues?

    Sandisk seems to be the only brand I can find, and I don't know what class it is. But 16GB seems amazing, especially of you want to combine games and media together on one big card.

    But maybe a Transcend 8GB MicroSDHC is enough. I heard the 8GB Transcends are very good and at Newegg they're really cheap too.
     
  2. JabbaFlap

    Newcomer JabbaFlap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Deep Space
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using a 16GB Sandisk class4 micro-sdhc (made in Taiwan) ok now for a few weeks on CycloDS 1.51 FW.
    Made a lot of directories on it and put my games in, converted my old DS-X saves.
    Also just got my EZ 3-in-1 slot2 card and can now play GBA titles 100% ok (old Castlevania's)

    The amount of storage is pretty insane, have 40 games on it only using 3GB (!)
    Have had no problems so far [​IMG]
     
  3. CoconutCake
    OP

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Good to hear it works well. Yeah it's a lot of storage. I guess it holds more games than I would ever really want. Maybe I'll get an 8GB instead when I finally buy a new flash cart.
     
  4. CJL18

    Member CJL18 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Country:
    United States

    newegg has 8gig kingston ones for 18bucks shipped!
     
  5. JabbaFlap

    Newcomer JabbaFlap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Deep Space
    Country:
    United States
    hey its XMas spoil yourself with the 16GB, you could like put a 1000 GBA ROMs on it ;-P
    That EZ 3-in-1 slot2 card is the bizz, just been playing CV Aria of Sorrow again and it works perfectly and my GBA save goes in the directory on the micro-sdhc card woo! Man this CycloDS cart + EZ 3-in-1 blows away my old DS-X [​IMG]
     
  6. Pedobear

    Banned Pedobear Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    If your looking for cards, stick for 4 or 6, and I'd say use 8 tops, unless you plan to use your DS for media or reading a lot of stuff (like comics)
     
  7. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't there still the limit of 128 or 256 files in a directory? So eventually we might have to categorize games on MicroSDHCs?
     
  8. JabbaFlap

    Newcomer JabbaFlap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Deep Space
    Country:
    United States
    I think there's ~ 128 file limit in directories inc root. I categorise by company like GBA, Konami, Sega etc
     
  9. haringtonl

    Member haringtonl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I think 8 gb is enough, unless you are adding your whole music library, or some movies.
     
  10. Meatbrain

    Newcomer Meatbrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    I have about 10 gb of music in total. Unless you do, I would recommend just an 8gb.
     
  11. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    no i am using a 4GB Class4 Japan SD
     

Share This Page