Any help with my current CPU?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ClockSmasher, Oct 12, 2012.

Oct 12, 2012
  1. ClockSmasher
    OP

    Newcomer ClockSmasher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Anything I could do in DeSmuME to make my poor AMD Athlon II X2 250 3.0 GHz work properly with it? I don't have the option to overclock due to mobo constraints, and I was hoping that there was some underlying trick to make it run smoothly. Games I'd like to play are White 2 and Rune Factory 3.
     
  2. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    Athlon II X2 is enough for desmume.
    You can use recent svn build, which is shipped with git compiler.
     
  3. ClockSmasher
    OP

    Newcomer ClockSmasher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately not. It has some pretty frequent slowdowns at different points in time.
     
  4. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try changing some settings to see if you get a speedup;
    - go to config-->Frame skip-->auto skip and raise the number to about 3 or 4. The game will run choppier at demanding parts but you get a significant speedup
    - go to config-->Sound settings and lower the number at buffer size, this should speed up the emu a bit (3000 should be a reasonable value). Note: this might desync audio, or make it choppier
    - go to config-->3D settings and select a different renderer, in some rare cases this might help
     

Share This Page