Akaio on R4DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by naved.islam14, Aug 26, 2010.

Aug 26, 2010

Akaio on R4DS by naved.islam14 at 2:50 PM (3,175 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. naved.islam14
    OP

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Can it be done?
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    No.

    WoodR4 does work on Real R4s and 1:1 Clones, however.
     
  3. naved.islam14
    OP

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    I already use WOODR4 Thanks anyway. [​IMG]
     
  4. .psyched

    Member .psyched GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    France
    Wood is based on AKAIO.
     
  5. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    No Wood and AKAIO are based on the AKRPG sources but neither is based on each other.
     
  6. .psyched

    Member .psyched GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    France
    Oh, sorry. But they're technically the same, right?
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No.

    They're up to date firmwares with a mix of recent features and the same type of GUI... but saying they're the same is like saying a ford car and a gm car are the same technically.
     
  8. .psyched

    Member .psyched GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    France
    Really? Sorry, then. >.
     
  9. Inunah

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    But they are all the same. [​IMG]
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    This is not this.
     
  11. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    No, but they should both take you to the shops [​IMG]

    EDIT: But seriously, they are different- they just both do the same thing in a similar manner, that's all.
     
  12. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,824
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    They are the same source, but with different features in both.
    AKAIO; Wifi updates, loader updates, can be used to load games through homebrew firmwares without needed to be hacked, SDHC support, and homebrew soft-reset. That's just some I can think off at the moment [​IMG]
    So they look the same, but they don't act the same all the time, one is just a bit better than the other
     
  13. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    And the authors work together... And they look the same, and they're based on the same source code, and, they both keep reasonably up to date... They're barely different. I really don't see why people feel the urge to differentiate. Same basic firmware for different cards. No more, no less.
     
  14. z.g

    Member z.g GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Latvia
    this is not firmware feature. wood rpg supports sdhc as well.
     
  15. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    You're sort of right in that it's not a firmware feature, but not because Wood RPG does it.
    It's a feature of the hardware.

    Anyway, features don't stop being features just because other products have them as well.
     

Share This Page