AK2i freezes DSL upon startup

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by diddysho, Mar 13, 2010.

Mar 13, 2010
  1. diddysho
    OP

    Newcomer diddysho Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I have a DS Lite with v5 of firmware on it. I'm using an AK2i I just got from a distributor on AceKard's website and a Sandisk 1gb microSD i already had from before. So I followed the tutorials and all to the T. formatted FAT using panasonic, tried AKAIO, then tried AceKard software, got newest loader, tried old versions of AceKard software and AKAIO. I tried setting the DSL to Auto-Boot and boot to menu. No matter what I try, whenever I have the card in, the DSL freezes 1 second after I turn it on.

    Here is a shot of what is displayed when it freezes and just hangs.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Give the contacts on the AceKard a clean.

    On mine I get that if I remove the cart while that screen is loading. So perhaps your DS is losing the conenction to the AceKard while loading up? Does it stall in exactly the same place every time?
     
  3. diddysho
    OP

    Newcomer diddysho Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I tested it with and without the SD card inserted in the cartridge. It freezes at this exact spot every single time, regardless of whether the SD card is inserted to the cartridge or not. Can someone confirm that the DS Lite freezes here when the SD card is not inserted. I think it may be due to the fact that the SD card is not making contact with the cartridge.

    It sucks if this is the case because its a brand new card.
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's nothing to do with the SD card, even without one it will still boot.
     
  5. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    do any legit games work on your DS? if not it might be a problem with your DS
     
  6. diddysho
    OP

    Newcomer diddysho Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I have 4 retail carts and they all work perfectly normal.
     
  7. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    there could be a possibility that you got a bad acekard2i if thats the case you should contact the seller and ask about a replacement
     
  8. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also have this trouble on a DSLite - except it's very intemittant, ie not every time

    I tried the 'card trick' & although it still does it - it's not as often
    (The Ak2i works everytime on a DSi)

    Have you a friend with a DSPhat ?? or has the card been updated to work on DSi - try it on that as well

    If it works - then the card OK, it's just the usual 'contacts are shorted in a DSLite' fault
    If it doesn't then it NFG (No F**king Good)
     

Share This Page