Advanced questions regarding IOS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Helsionium, Jan 28, 2009.

Jan 28, 2009
  1. Helsionium
    OP

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Hi there, I have a few questions regarding IOS...

    First, is it safe to delete IOSes I found on my Wii and determined to be unused (versions 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 20, 22).
    I checked that they are in fact unused with the Title Lister, which outputs the IOS version each title is using. Is this information accurate?
    Importantly, will deleting these IOSes free up some storage space on my Wii?
     
  2. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    never ever delete any org. or modified ios of your wii. every ios is used by specific games.
     
  3. zeldafn333

    Member zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Massachusetts B)
    Country:
    United States
    Deleting an IOS will almost always result in a brick.
    And I believe the IOS and other NAND required files are in a seperate memory space on the wii, which means deleting them wouldn't do anything.

    That's as far as I know, which isn't to much [​IMG]
     
  4. Helsionium
    OP

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Sorry but your information is almost certainly not correct.
    Crediar reported that his system menu was running fine with only one IOS installed.

    I know that many games use different IOSes, but what about the IOSes that are actually not used by any game/channel?
    What IOS version a title uses is specified in its TMD, and with Title Lister, I got exactly that information, which must be at least somewhat reliable...

    I could post my Title Lister output if you want to verify yourself that several "orphaned" IOS versions exist on my system.
     
  5. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    What title lister displays is the booting ios... (the one defined in the tmd)
    a game could incorporate more than one ios in it's full run...
     
  6. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    All IOS's are used by some game, you just might not have it yet. What about if you bought it next week?
     
  7. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Then the game would request to perform an update, unless you had updates blocked.
     
  8. zeldafn333

    Member zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Massachusetts B)
    Country:
    United States
    The system menu only runs on one IOS. Games, channels, and everything else runs on the other ones. Including loading discs.
     
  9. Helsionium
    OP

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    So you think IOS_Reload() is actually used by some official games?
    I highly doubt Nintendo allows developers to use such mechanisms.

    And every game includes at least the IOS it requires to run, so wouldn't it just trigger an update if the IOS is indeed missing?
     
  10. zeldafn333

    Member zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Massachusetts B)
    Country:
    United States
    Most games with an update also come with the newest firmware on the disc so non-wifi users can be on the latest Firmwares as well.
    Which would result in you getting all your IOSs back

    This is why on the recovery menu, newer games can be used to install a new system menu if corrupted
     
  11. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    It's not common but there are a few titles that do an IOS reload.
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm not 100% sure, some games might really do this. But then only the IOS specified in the tmd, or else Gamma wouldn't work. The IOS Version patching games load the IOS specified in the tmd somehow, but if this is done directly with IOS_Reload() i don't know.
     
  13. Helsionium
    OP

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Well... I'll just try. There is no danger of bricking, and I can always just reinstall the IOSes if they are really important.

    Anyway, I found out that there is an IOS255 on my Wii, I have never heard about that... could this be leftovers from a failed homebrew application? I never purposefully installed any cIOS as 255...
     
  14. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Probably the one installed by xyzzy if you ever tried to run it (old version) after 23rd oct. update....
     

Share This Page