Action Replay DS Media Edition

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by superdude, Sep 1, 2008.

Sep 1, 2008
  1. superdude
    OP

    Member superdude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]Datel has just released a new Action replay, with games 'n music captivity. This new device can use cheats, watch movies, music, play homebrew games and has a saves manager. Could we use this to play commercial games? probably not but if you just like homebrew, play original games and want cheats for them then this is something for you. http://us.codejunkies.com/Products/Action-...__EF000642.aspx.
     
  2. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    I sold my AR, and broke my GnM, took it apart, doesn't always work now.
    It would be good, even with out SDHC support, since homebrew probably take up more that 2GB.
    Certainly NOT going to get. [​IMG]
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Music and movies do though. Actually, that's the only reason why SDHC is interesting to me. Sure, 4 GB or more seems nice, but I don't need it at all.
     
  4. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if their hardware is still crappy, back in the day when I had a GnM it was slow as fuck
     
  5. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    I still do. [​IMG] Never did think it was THAT slow. :S

    Oh yeah, music and videos, you would need moonshell for music though, it played like shit. Videos were actually pretty good, I could watch anime subs at school and read the text. [​IMG]
     
  6. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Also should have DLDI off the bat, or Datel are even more assholes than they already are.

    You can already do everything this can with a GnM (or any flashcart) and Nitro Hax, though, so I don't see the point.
     
  7. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I played decent quality vids on moonshell they lagged like hell, with a proper flashcart, there are no problems at all. Also, switching songs was pretty slow in moonshell on the GnM.
     
  8. bunnybreaker

    Member bunnybreaker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You know they are banking on this getting cracked to play ROMs if they want to sell a decent amount.
     
  9. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you maybe forgot one of the most interesting details from that page!

    It's about time a new saves management tool was released, ever since they ditched the Action Replay Max Duo!

    And the software also works on vista, the old AR software didn't.
     
  10. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    rather than buying that i would buy a flashcard.
    did u lot see the size of it? is going to stick out of the ds
     
  11. Carnivean

    Member Carnivean STARMAN

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No shit, you can't exactly plug a cart into it if there's nothing sticking out. [​IMG]
     
  12. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    this shit better be cheap, dx sells ttds for $20, and it CAN play backups
     
  13. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    it cost about £24 in uk

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's $35, so, not cheap.

    Maybe if you buy it somewhere else it'll be cheaper, but whatever.
     
  15. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    No it doesn't >.>
     
  16. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Misread his post, "ttds" looked like "it"
     
  17. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    we could use max overload to play roms.
     
  18. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't there some hack to make this play commercial ROMs? But even if there were, I wonder how this would compare with DS flash cards. Obviously it wouldn't have any fancy features but at least it will support cheat codes. [​IMG]
     
  19. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    but the cheats code wont work with a rom(until someone hack it), u will need a real game to enable cheats. unlike flashcarts which can do everything(no sex ,they cant)
     
  20. Shabadage

    Member Shabadage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Colorado
    Country:
    United States
    Except that the MMD was completely different from this. The GnM couldn't play backups due to the way it was contructed; there was no way to do it without modifying the board; basically they bottlenecked the memory so that anything larger than the DS internal memory wouldn't run. It could run all those captured WiFi demos though. I'm 99.9% certain that this uses the same board as the GnM, and they just updated the firmware so it could be used as an AR as well. There will be NO chance of running commercial backups on this unless the game is less than 4 MB.
     

Share This Page