Acekard2i SD contents after 3DS update

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by slyboogy27, Apr 7, 2011.

Apr 7, 2011
  1. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Recently I updated my Nintendo DSLite with the "Update of AK2i for 3DS"
    off the Acekard website. Everything went smooth...or so I thought.

    I was on 81 not 44 and AKAIO 1.8.5 when I updated with the download
    Acekard.com offered and made sure I selected the NDSLite version of
    the update and like I said everything went fine when updating.

    1) Booted up the ak2ifw_update_3ds_v1_DSL.nds file off my Acekard2i

    2) Removed Acekard 2i from slot as instructed before pressing B

    3) Pressed B

    4) 100% progress (then told me to restart, so I did)

    5) Turned it on again and got an icon that was in Japanese
    (something, something DORASU!)

    6) When I attempted to boot it up on my DSLite it went straight to a white
    screen

    7) When I attempted to boot it up on my 3DS it went straight to a screen
    that said "An error has occurred. Press and hold the POWER Button to turn
    the system off. Please refer to the Operations Manual for details.

    8) I shut the system off and figured I'd format my memory card and see if
    I could fix it myself but when I did it still didn't work.

    9) I then did some reading and realized that I had just flashed something
    new to my Acekard and even without an SD card inside it, it would still show
    up as the DORASU! icon (DSLite and on 3DS)


    I don't know what to do next I have a recovery program and have already
    recovered all the files previously on the sd card including the AKAIO 1.8.5

    What I'd like to see since I have all these other files now (that I guess were
    a part of the NDS update file, but not too sure) would be a computer screen
    shot of the files on the SD card after an Acekard2i Update on AKAIO1.8.6a

    I figure if I load AKAIO1.8.6a on the SD card and put the 3DS files in the
    proper place on the SD card the Acekard2i would boot (at least on the 3DS
    since I read once you get the DORASU! icon on your DSLite you can only
    use your Acekard2i on your 3DS.
     
  2. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone? Please. Help.
     
  3. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Dont worry, you just bricked your Acekard. Same thing happened to me originally. It's an easy fix, but you need another flashcart, do you have one?
     
  4. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for answering.
    In a few days I'll have a DSTT. Could you explain exactly what happened?
    Or at least give me a brief summary I'd like to understand what I did wrong.
    If not that's alright but I wonder will a DSTT flash card work?
    Or do I need another Acekard2i?
     
  5. lompoc

    Banned lompoc Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    it works on 1.8.6 firmware on dslight and 3ds so downgrade it with dslight to work all firmware only on dslight are dsi i downgraded mine it aint brick try firmware 1.8.6 and put it in dslight again it shows up lower firmware wont work on acekard2i if you flashed 3ds wich sucks because sum games work on lower firmware enjoy
     
  6. lompoc

    Banned lompoc Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    try it in dslight again with 1.8.6a firmware dose it show up reply please
     
  7. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    How do I downgrade it to 1.8.6? Just drag the files to the SD card?
    Because when I try that and load it up on the DSLite it still doesn't work.
     
  8. Nyutan

    Newcomer Nyutan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    In front of computer.
    Country:
    United States
    Download a fresh Akaio 1.8.6a put it on your microSD, Then download the latest loader from Akaio's loader page here http://akaio.net/loaders/030611/ak2loader.zip And unzip it to the _aio/loaders/ folder.

    Report back when you've tried this.
     
  9. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried adding the AKAIO 1.8.6a and the ak2loader.nds file to the
    loaders folder in the _aio folder on the SD card and still nothing.
     
  10. lompoc

    Banned lompoc Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    try it in dslight and downgrade to 1.4.1 if it works if not bricked cart send to me to fix but send deliverly back and forth are buy new acekard2i to fix
     
  11. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    How am I supposed to downgrade to 1.4.1 if I
    don't have a working flash cartridge?
     
  12. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    You didn't do anything wrong. The update has a slight chance of bricking your Acekard, you got unlucky. You don't need another Acekard, your DSTT will work fine.

    Use this file, put ak2ifw_update_141_dsl.nds on the root of your DSTT. Start it, follow the instructions, and it'll get to a point where you need to take out the cart and put your AK2i in. It will then unbrick the cart. (You may have to do it a few times).

    After that try the 3DS update again. It worked for me the second time, but it may brick you again. If it does just keep unbricking it and trying.
     
  13. slyboogy27
    OP

    Newcomer slyboogy27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds good xakota.
    Thanks for the help, it's much appreciated.
    Just gotta wait for my DSTT now.
    I'll do exactly as instructed and report back
    on how things go.
     
  14. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    No problem, glad to help. Good luck.
     

Share This Page