Acekard2i/DSiXL Problem

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Shadowity, Oct 29, 2010.

Oct 29, 2010

Acekard2i/DSiXL Problem by Shadowity at 11:54 PM (3,772 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I've been looking around the forum and google for a while and I'm totally out of ideas.

    I recently bought an Acekard2i and it seems to be running just fine until I attempt to load a game. The game itself starts up but when I select "New Game" it suddenly decides to stop running and just lock up.

    The odd thing is it works perfectly fine on my DSLite, but I really don't want to be limited to using my Lite and not my XL.

    Okay so... My XL is on 1.4.1U, but I have the Stormrider fix. Running AKAIO 1.8.1, and I'm using the "paper fix" just to make sure.

    I've looked through every sticky I could find and I still don't understand why it won't run, there has to be something I'm missing but I just don't know what it is.
    Does anyone have any idea what the problem is? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Back up all your games and saves, reformat with the panasonic formatter, then put a fresh/new copy of AKAIO 1.8.1 on, and then just your games (not saves). See if you can make a new save and then shut off, start up, and load it.
     
  3. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I already formatted with it beforehand, but hey I'm totally out of ideas of what else to try so I'll give it another shot and edit this post with the results. Here's to hoping it works, and either way thanks for trying to help even if it doesn't. Wish me luck.

    Edit: I was so excited at first it seemed to be working, but then after I reset and reloaded the game it goes back to freezing. Even just one game with a .SAV file keeps the rest from loading up at all. Is there someway to fix that or am I going to have to send it back and get a new one?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What games have you tested?

    Tried another microsd card?
     
  5. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yu-Gi-Oh Reverse of Arcadia and a patched Pokemon White. Both games alone work just fine, and they work on the DSLite too so I know they're not bad or anything.

    Same thing goes for the MicroSD card, it works fine on the DSLite; but I don't have a second or else I would give it a try.
     
  6. CalleMan

    Newcomer CalleMan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Sweden
    Go back to AKAIO 1.7.1 and give it a try .
     
  7. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    No such luck, I formatted the SD card the right way, and tried a few different ways but the games still lock up on trying to read/write the .SAV files or shortly after. Thanks for trying though.
     
  8. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    I can swap my acekards from my sons DSL to my DSi XL without issue so there must be something wrong with your setup.

    Have tried the card back in the DSL since?
    Is the acekard 1.4.1 updated?
    Do you have paper under the PCB? I have found the DSL works better with the paper under the PCB and the DSi XL prefers it with nothing.
     
  9. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I can still use it on my DSL without problems, which is why it's especially confusing.
    Like I said in my first post, I've updated the Acekard itself, and no, I haven't had a need to put paper/etc under the PCB for either. I only need the paper trick for the XL since the cart wiggles around a little too much.

    The cart seems to not like reading/writing .SAV files on the XL for some reason, and I'm not sure what to do for it because I've done/tried almost everything.
     
  10. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I'm confused as well. All i can say is it should work which isn't very helpfull. [​IMG]

    edit: I'm gussing it's an SD card issue. It's strange though, I would have thought an SD issue would have effected both consoles.
     
  11. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    My friend let me use his MicroSD card just now, I formatted it and put my stuff on it, tried to load it again and it still locks up shortly after starting the games.

    Thanks everyone for all your help but I'm pretty sure something is wrong with the Acekard itself, I'm going to have to return it by the looks of it. Thanks again for trying to help.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, try flashing it with the 1.4.1 update again from the DS Lite?
     
  13. Sephxus

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Are you doing the paper trick correctly?
     
  14. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I had flashed 1.4.1 on it already with the DSL, my XL was already on firmware 1.4.
     
  15. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    what Ryidian meant is that, try running the 1.4.1 fix again. that may fix it since probably the fix was not done correctly
     
  16. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I tried. No such luck. I've already sent in a problem ticket thing to the site I bought it from, I've tried everything suggested/necessary at least twice, I'm almost positive that the Acekard is just faulty or something. Thanks for all your help though guys, I appreciate it.
     
  17. Sephxus

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
  18. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I mentioned in my first post I was using the paper trick. It can't possibly be the problem since it actually DOES read the game just fine, I can stay on my menu for as long as I'd want, and I can even run homebrew like the Colors program, it's only when it needs to read/write a savefile that it likes to lock up.

    I've tried everything relevant that's in the forums, the first thing I checked out was all the stickies--and no one seems to know what's going on, so I've pretty much come to the conclusion that it has to be something with the Acekard itself, or even worse something with my XL--then I'd REALLY be screwed.
     
  19. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Its almost as if, when your AK is in the XL, it's read-only. Can you create a file on the SD besides a .sav using a homebrew program? A drawing program or something?
     
  20. Shadowity
    OP

    Newcomer Shadowity Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, just tried it out. I used Colors to doodle a picture, saved it, shut off the XL and turned it back on and reloaded it just fine.

    Does that give you a theory to what may be going on?
     

Share This Page