Acekard question!

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Fedex14, Jun 5, 2011.

Jun 5, 2011

Acekard question! by Fedex14 at 2:16 AM (546 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi as you may or may not know I bought my 3DS today together with an Acekard 2i. I used to use R4 with Wood firmware and I had to convert my .sav files (used by official r4 firm) to .nds.sav to be able to have Wood identify them. Now I transfered everything to my Acekard which has I believe 1.8.6 firmware and it doesn't identify my save files but it does identify .sav. Why is this, wasn't Akaio supposed to NEED .nds.sav? Or does it now support .sav? Is there any way to change this or should I just reconvert everything to .sav?

    Another thing, I think the guys where I bought it already patched it for me or something? As the 3DS read it right out of the box. I saw on the official website some .nds files which are a "patch" or soemthing. I don't understand what they are. If I wanted to update to 1.8.7 I just download the regular firmware, replace the files and it's done or do I have to use those patches for something?

    Thank you very much!
     
  2. Demonstryde

    Member Demonstryde GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
    if your 3ds has the first update an the AK2i is working you do not need to patch it... if you want the new firmware 1.8.7 replace the aio folder with new one and the AKmenu4.nds file. and yes the save files need to be .sav
    im not sure how to get nds.sav working im sure it does read those but safe bet would be to put them at .sav
     
  3. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you can switch AKAIO's save type to *.nds.sav.
     
  4. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    thanks for the answers I just couldnt wait and converted everything to .sav lol so no problem it worked it was supposed to be .sav anyway I just confused haha,
     
  5. Gameplayer9198

    Member Gameplayer9198 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    USA, Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    Yes the acekard2i can support the .nds.sav Save Ext.

    Open Start select System Options
    Now the tab bar at the top will say "System Options" press one of arrow till you fine "File System Settings"
    on the Save Ext. option it will say ".sav" now select the ".nds.sav" and press OK and hope it works
     

Share This Page