acekard 2i fake??

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by fishykipper, Mar 9, 2010.

Mar 9, 2010

acekard 2i fake?? by fishykipper at 6:18 PM (3,189 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive just bought an acekard 2i from 'thehanger.org.uk'

    and i was just checking out the acekard website for the firmware and software and noticed a section showing pictures of fake acekards (ones with square lumps on the from of the card under the sticker!!

    it works fine, plays games fine, updates fine...

    is it fake though? would rather have a legit!

    has anyone else ever bought from this site???


    cheers for the replies!
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Does AKAIO 1.5.1 run?
     
  3. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    the search button is your friend. look for the topic from RealHotStuff
     
  4. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    The search button is easily missable. Instead of wasting your time posting that, help the dude out.

    And the only way to really check if it's a fake or not is to actually open it up and find out, or try running AKAIO 1.5.1. See what happens.
     
  5. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As mentioned - try the AKAIO software
    If it runs - It's genuine
    If it doesn't - It's Fake

    The Pictures/Photos can't really be counted on too much as earlier ak2i were built the same way as the clones are now -

    What with the
    • - Actel Chip
      - Hole in Shell
    I should know as I have one of the earlier versions (I brought it ~2 weeks after they first came out) & it's possible you may've got an 'old stock' version of an acekard

    IIRC - I think the sticker used on genuine ak's was suppose to be shiny/mirror like - while clones had a matt sticker (can't remember where I actually read that from - as it's not on the official page)
     
  6. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    Check the hardware - ID (what I heard)

    It should be 41 if it is real (4141, no?)

    Either help from akaio, or run a Updater app (either the language one or the DSi 1.4 updater app) - and then ONLY CHECK THE HW ID.

    if it is not 4141 I say to NOT run the updater as your clone might be bricked - granted; I do not want you to break yours even if it is clone. (IF it is a clone)
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't think that right - I've just checked using AKAIO (1.5.1) & it stating my acekard is 'HW: 44'

    In fact 'HW:44' exist on acekards downloads site next to the 'AK2i update file for EUR/US DSi. Language issue solved.' links (as well as 'HW:81')

    In the Acekard Fourms - a quick search shows there's been mentioned 'HW:41' and 'HW:80' as well
    On another forum there also seems to be a 'HW:88'
     
  8. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    Thanks...

    I only remembered it was 40 something, and I knew my new Hardware is 81

    so yeah, you are right, it should be 44 to be real (so 41 would mean a fake... or 80 etc.)
     
  9. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Been doing some more searching & found this article

    Haven't gone through every page (yet) but put simply it seems that

    Acekard 2.1 = HW:80 = True

    Acekard 2i with Actel chip = HW:44 = True
    Acekard 2i with Actel chip = HW:80 = Possible Fake (although it seems AKAIO still works with this version)

    Acekard with 'new chip' = HW:81
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I got mine within the past few months and it's 81.
     
  11. fishykipper
    OP

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers for all the replies boys/girls!

    i've checked out the card and come to the decision its just from an old batch, maybe the site i bought it from just has loads of old stock to ship out!!

    And in reply to one of the first posts, yes AKAIO 1.5.1 does run fine on it, no problems at all thus far. Pretty slick software! Although i tired an update via wifi and nothing seemed to happen, i assume this is because i have the latest version. theres a couple of games which wont load, but i'll have to read through and sort them out!

    Cheers for all the replied, i greatly appreciate it!!
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    THe two recent sonic games (racing and collection) won't work on the 2i yet, the update to fix that is pending.

    Go to the main AKAIO menu and choose Help, it will show your hardware ID there.
     
  13. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    They do now...

    (yay normatt!)
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Damn skippy, AKAIO 1.6 RC1 fixes them. X3
     

Share This Page