Hacking About IOS9 and Twilight Princess

OriginalHamster

UStealthy
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
3,380
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,326
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
It´s possible modify ancient IOS9 in order to make that Wii disc slot light turn on when you extract/insert the disc in middle gameplay?

Just like newer games does.
 

OriginalHamster

UStealthy
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
3,380
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,326
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
Crass said:
What? Why?

Marcan[...]and even some minor things like the "slot LED blinks when you eject a disc" feature try it when you're playing Zelda and you'll see that it doesn't work, because it's using the very old IOS9.

http://hackmii.com/2009/02/why-the-wii-wil...get-any-better/

Why not
wink.gif
 

Burton

Real Life VIP and Educator
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
880
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
283
Country
OriginalHamster said:
Crass said:
What? Why?

Marcan[...]and even some minor things like the "slot LED blinks when you eject a disc" feature try it when you're playing Zelda and you'll see that it doesn't work, because it's using the very old IOS9.

http://hackmii.com/2009/02/why-the-wii-wil...get-any-better/

Why not
wink.gif
Maybe it can be done but I think no one will ever see this as a priority thus what you are wishing may never be realized.
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
295
Country
United States
You can do it directly on the wii with Multi Mod Manager.

There's a button to press in the IOS manager to create a custom IOS. You want a base of IOS60 v6174, and you want to install it in IOS9's slot. The rest of the options (the new version number, patches, etc.) are your choice.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country
Burton said:
OriginalHamster said:
mauifrog said:
Try installing ios60-v6174 into the ios9 slot. Zelda will play, perhaps your drive light will also flash when you eject the disc.
How I do that?
I think ShowmeWads had a trick for this.
ShowMiiWads, but yeah it has that function. Not really a "trick" though.
 

OriginalHamster

UStealthy
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
3,380
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,326
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
techboy said:
You can do it directly on the wii with Multi Mod Manager.

There's a button to press in the IOS manager to create a custom IOS. You want a base of IOS60 v6174, and you want to install it in IOS9's slot. The rest of the options (the new version number, patches, etc.) are your choice.
Done, will try, my lens is kinda screwed, with luck I could load Twilight =P
Thanks!
 

koji2009

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
XP
197
Country
United States
This isn't new, original, or interesting... If anyone ever installed cioscorps or darkcorps they already basically had this.

Also there is absolutely no reason to run any ios as ios9. Ios9 is primitive and only works on one game.
 

thesund0g

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
The Boonies
Website
Visit site
XP
115
Country
koji2009 said:
This isn't new, original, or interesting... If anyone ever installed cioscorps or darkcorps they already basically had this.

Also there is absolutely no reason to run any ios as ios9. Ios9 is primitive and only works on one game.

So thanks for posting!

I didn't know IOS 9 didn't have that behavior, so I'd say it was interesting.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country
mauifrog said:
Installing ios60-v6174 into slot 11, 20, 30, 40, 50, 52 gives sdhc support for SM 2.0-3.5. (I think)
But as it is POINTLESS to be on a lower System Menu than 4.1, that is fairly irrelevant. I'm more interested in if it is possible to get SDHC support in games by switching IOS around...for the few games that support loading stuff direct from SD.
 

tueidj

I R Expert
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,569
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
999
Country
The calls are the same but SDHC uses sector addressing while regular SD uses byte addressing. The app has to know which mode to use so it can pass the correct arguments to IOS.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7oQCRliu-w