A question about DSi Mode and DSL Mode

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Cristian_berme, Oct 5, 2011.

Oct 5, 2011
  1. Cristian_berme
    OP

    Newcomer Cristian_berme Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Hi,

    I'm playing an original card with my DSi and I'm wondering:

    An original card have acces to the DSi Features?

    I know that a non-DSI enchanced game can't use the cameras, but the game would be better if it can use the additional RAM, for example.

    So, can the original DS cards (Animal Crossing, for example) use the DSi features?

    (Sorry if my English is bad, I translated to english parts of this with the google translator)
     


  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    no.

    ds games run in ds-mode only.

    -another world
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Even if there was a way to boot the games in DSi-mode, we can assume a good chunk of them are specifically programmed to assume there's only 4MB of RAM and will treat that as if it's the limit because they don't know any better... and as for the CPU speed since it's pretty much static, making them run at double the clock rate can end up with unexpected results, such as the entire game or only some events in the game running too fast if the frame rate limiting is not done correctly (or not done at all) in all areas.
     
  4. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I guess the only games that will be affected are DSi enhanced games, which have been coded to take benefit from the extra CPU and RAM. Otherwise no change AFAIK..


    -Qtis
     
  5. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    Games with TWL are DSi enchanced (not enchanTed lol) and works with one region console. twl-...-usa works only on usa console.
    NTR games are for all console and all regions.
     
  6. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Not every TWL game is region locked, though.
     
  7. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    What? Realy? Which one?
     
  8. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Pokémon Black and White.
     
  9. Zerosuit connor

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    What does dsi mode do?
     
  10. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think Rydian nailed this down to the point. It's not that we can't nessarily boot games up in DSi mode when we eventually get to that point, but rather the fact that most if not all games lack any sort of programming that tells them "Yes! I have more than 4MB of Ram and a better CPU, lets utilize it!" As a result, they would only assume that 4MB exists, and refuse to use any more even if more is present.

    A good analogy would be 32-Bit, and 64-Bit on a computer. A computer capable of only 32-Bit will only be able to use about 2/3 of the ram installed, even if say 4GB were installed, and 4GB is the limit for 32-Bit. A 64-Bit computer can use up to 32GB of Ram, and can utilize almost, if not all of it (Eg, 3.8GB/4GB or even the full 4GB or more). DS Games are akin to 32-bit computers, and DSi-enhanced games are akin to 64-Bit computers.

    Also, most games are not dumped while including the DSi portion of their data, rendering them no more than standard DS Games.
     
  11. z.g

    Member z.g GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Latvia
    this is not true. japanize pokemons works only on japanize console, all other pokemons don't work on japanize console.
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I never said it applied to every language Black/White.
     
  13. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    United States
    DS mode = NTR on game carts. (DS games only)
    DSi mode= TWL on game carts (DSi games & DSi hybrid games for dsi but playable on ds)
    DSi mode allows use of both camera's, camera led, more CPU power, more RAM power, SD/SDHC card slot, & WPA WiFi support.

    difference in power is.
    DS CPU= 67MHz &33 MHz (100MHz total)
    DSi CPU= 133MHz & 33MHz (166MHz total)
    DS RAM= 4MB (internal mobile SRAM) (expandable to 8MB+ external via gba slot)
    DSi RAM= 16MB (internal mobile PSRAM)

    i have a page on technical differences here.
    https://sites.google...loads/tech-info
     
  14. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    DSi games cannot access the SD card slot.
     
  15. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    United States
    flipnote studio, DSii camera, DSi sound, & 3DS transfer tool does.
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Those are DSi-Ware.
     
  17. z.g

    Member z.g GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Latvia
    you said that pokemonz games not region locked. this means that any region pockemon game works on any region console and nothing else.

    imagine: artist, art academy.
     
  18. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Go back and read what I said again.

    Access to the SD card slot is shut down when a game from Slot-1 has been launched.
     
  19. sporkonomix

    Newcomer sporkonomix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    If that were true, then how would you save your creations in Art Academy?
     
  20. z.g

    Member z.g GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Latvia

    this is not true. access to the sd card slot is shutdown only in case then game doesn't have sd card access bit set in header.
     

Share This Page