A bug that does not make sense

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Bean_BR, Mar 16, 2011.

Mar 16, 2011
  1. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    well, I use Windows XP and this is what occurs:
    1- I try put the Okamiden clean rom on my sdcard
    2- the Windows explorer freezes on the folder that I try to put the rom (wtf??? [​IMG] )
    3- and what doesn't make sense, is that this doesn't occur when I put the patched rom (or any other file)

    can someone explain to me why this happens ? [​IMG]
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If Explorer is having trouble reading either from the source or the destination (e.g. because of a bad block/sector), that will cause the window to freeze (I/O error).

    Frst, try again to make sure that it actually doesn't work... then try scanning the SD and the drive for errors.
     
  3. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    i have tried two times (and I restarted the pc, because there was no response from the explorer on that folder)
    i'll try downloading the rom again to see if the problem isn't in the file
    and thanks for your help [​IMG]
     
  4. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    After that, just be a little patient. Sometimes, when I copy a rom to my card, it freezes a bit, then after like 30 seconds, it unfreezes and it's finished copying.
     
  5. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    what happens with this rom, is that the "progress bar of copying" doesn't fill and when I hit the cancel button the explorer freezes on that folder but this doesn't happens with the patched rom or other file... maybe the file is the problem ? I'll try other rom (but the same game)
     
  6. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    other file and same problem [​IMG]
    I waited and received a error
    I think the problem is between my computer and Okamiden
    oh, and my sd card is very hot (unusual)
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's more than one file, then there's a very good chance it's the SD card that's having I/O problems.

    Also, an SD card is not supposed to get hot. I've only encountered hot SD cards that are fakes (using compression to fit 8GB on a 4GB chip) or at the end of their life (failing parts causes resistance in the electronics which means heat... which means faster deterioration and a short remaining lifespan).
     
  8. naruses

    Member naruses GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Your Mom
    Country:
    United States
    That is the Okamiden's new AP. It Freezes your Windows Explorer [​IMG]
     
  9. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    now, I used the patch on the rom and the copying process was a sucess...so the problem is with the clean rom...
    seriously, this DON'T MAKE ANY SENSE (fu** you, explorer)
     
  10. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    lol
     
  11. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    Your ava is annoying.. also what type/brand SD card is it?
     
  12. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    nobody cares about the avatar... it's a Kingston MicroSD 2 GB
     
  13. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    His avatar is totally relevant to the conversation. Your avatar is stupid.


    In seriousness, though, try wiping the entire card. The thing could be corrupted. I've had it happen to me before.
     
  14. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, if other ROMs copy fine, it's probably a hard drive problem rather than SD. I've been having a similar problem; my HDD is in its later stages of life, and I've been working on backing up my anime and such to an external drive, but roughly two out of every ten files give me an I/O error, and it's driving me nuts. Stuff I just downloaded and played a week ago is doing it.

    But yeah, try running a disk check utility and defrag the drive. Could just be a small problem you'll never encounter again, or your hard drive could be in the early stages of failure. Better safe than sorry.
     
  15. Bean_BR
    OP

    Member Bean_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Brazil
    I have sent my pc for repair some times and I remember now that the repair guy said my HD was "dying".Better I do a backup of the hard drive soon.
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can get a quick report from the SMART. of the HDD using a tool like SpeedFan. It can give an indication as to how unhealthy your HDD actually is.
     

Share This Page