6-8 months ago...

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by kbon, Jan 10, 2011.

Jan 10, 2011

6-8 months ago... by kbon at 11:30 PM (1,477 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. kbon
    OP

    Newcomer kbon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Around 6-8 months ago, I bricked my Wii using an App called DOP-Mii, by putting stuff in that I shouldn't have done... The Wii i had was old and running slow anyways, dunno why it was slow. I turn it on and I just get a black screen, no Health Screen or anything... :/ Then in November I got an Xbox 360 slim, and didn't play it a whole lot [​IMG] Recently I've been looking into getting my wii fixed up again, though there are issues with this...

    For one, my computer had all the stuff needed to bring it back, like Bootmii and all that stuff, and when i had to reformat my Hard Drive to get rid of a virus, it deleted all the stuff i had for homebrew, Bootmii and all. I had no way to back it up, and the virus gave me a hard drive issue, so i had to reformat it and lose everything. So now, I am asking for help, now that i got the virus and everything gone... can i load Bootmii using another person's NAND, or am i gonna have to get a new wii? Dx
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Did you have Bootmii as boot2 installed?
     
  3. kbon
    OP

    Newcomer kbon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    That is something i forget... I installed it using the Smash Stack method, i believe... Does that help? :L
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    That's not what I'm asking. The Hackmii installer can install it as boot2 or IOS. It can't save you now unless it was installed as boot2.
     
  5. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    two ways to find out if you have bootmii@boot2:

    if you power on the wii, do you see the slot light flash twice real quick? if so, then you have bootmii at boot2....

    otherwise, you can use modmii to get the bootmii files and put them in the bootmii folder in the root of your card...card in the wii...power on...cross your fingers....if you're lucky, you'll end up at the bootmii screen (which you'll have to get to to fix your wii)...this won't happen unless you have bootmii@boot2
     
  6. kbon
    OP

    Newcomer kbon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    last time i turned it on, it flashed only once... as for modmii, what's that do? O.o
     
  7. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    modmii would be a tool you would use to get the bootmii files so you can fix your wii...
    but if you lack bootmii/boot2, then modmii does nothing for you....
     
  8. kbon
    OP

    Newcomer kbon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Alright... i'll try this Modmii thingy, and if it doesn't work, then I may have to get a new wii :L
     
  9. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    okay...download modmii...install on your computer...run...type 'i agree'....'C'...'BM'...select your region...'O'....'Y'...'Y'...close the txt doc window that opens....'O'....
    then move the bootmii folder to the root of you SD card....bring to wii and insert...power wii on.... ...hope for no black screen....

    since you know you don't see two flashes on power on though, ....i'd say this won't work....
     
  10. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    you should have either had bootmii installed as a boot2 or had priiloader installed. If you have either of those you should be able to restore your system. You can hold the reset button down while powering on the wii and if you have priiloader or a boot2 one of them should come up. You really should have left your nand dump on the sd card or at least backed it up onto a cd or dvd. You should be able to run the hackmii installer from the priiloader or the boot2 and rehack the wii, I'm not entirely sure on that but if not you should at least be able to access the homebrew channel from there and run the hackmii installer to rehack.

    Also if you try to load the homebrew channel and it says there was an error autobooting or something of that sort you can choose to launch a title and then select the homebrew channel from the list to gain access.
     
  11. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    ahh yes...with Krestent starting the thread off on the Bootmii/Boot2 focus, the whole priiloader option totally escaped me....silly me....
    but yes...priiloader would also be a viable option if present....
     
  12. kbon
    OP

    Newcomer kbon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Having no idea what Priiloader is btw... and I cannot fix it atm, cuz my xbox is in my tv, and my room is undergoing renovations atm Dx
     
  13. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    If you hacked your wii you should know what priiloader is because you should have installed it following the softmod guide. anyways what priiloader is, is a alternate menu that can load before the wii system menu thus in the event of a system menu brick you can access bootmii and the homebrew channel using it to restore your system menu to a working order. It also provides various system hacks such as blocking disc updates among other things.
     
  14. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,125
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Basically...what CAN you do?

    If you put a folder called SD:\bootmii on your SD card (check the HBC site for the contents), does your wii show the interface of bootmii?
    If you hold the reset key while booting the thing, does it show the menu of preloader/priiloader?
    If neither, can you access the wii menu at all?

    I understand you want to fix your wii and we're here to help...but if you can't answer these questions, the thing isn't going to get fixed soon. So let us know when you're able to test it, alright? [​IMG]


    Though personally, I wouldn't get my hopes up. without bootmii or priiloader, you're missing the backup plan needed to fix situations like these. And even then: using a nand from another wii is dangerous and very ill-advised.
     
  15. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    1. This is not homebrew related so this should be moved.

    2. You got 2 choices 1. get a modchip and use an autobooting disk to reinstall system menu
    2. Send your wii to deadlyfoes (if you really live in usa) he can fix is 100% sure (and if if still does it it think he does not charge much)
     

Share This Page