3DS to use 2 PICA 200 chips

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by lostdwarf, Sep 9, 2010.

Sep 9, 2010

3DS to use 2 PICA 200 chips by lostdwarf at 1:13 AM (10,675 Views / 0 Likes) 80 replies

  1. lostdwarf
    OP

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://cdn1.gamepro.com/article_img/gamepr...DBF3CFE9BF5ACDF
    http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php...1904&page=6


    Ok I found this on another site so I thought you all should see. The diagram clearly shows TWO GPU cores.
    and a vibration motor.
    seems pretty reasonable to me but not official.
    these people are speculating like we have been so take it all with a pinch of salt methinks.

    also this is on here too:

    3DS DS PSP Iphone3GS
    GPU 2* DMP Pica 200 @ 200 MHz Nintendo Proprietary Sony Proprietary powerVR SGX535
    Vertex Performance
    (Triangles per Second) 30.6 Million 120 Thousand 33 Million 28 Million
    Fillrate
    (Pixels per Second) 1.6 Billion 30 Million 664 Million 500 Million
    as you can see the fill rate per 200Mhz PICA 200 chip is higher than the max filtrate of the PSP (actual performance is probably lower as the PSP utilises the CPU heavily to generate graphics as it's an early system on a chip without proper dedicated GPU component) and if the patent diagram holds true will be well over double, much of that will probably be eaten up by the stereoscopic 3D. well doing research I also found that power consumption is ~1mW per 1Mhz which is very good.

    3ds_diagram.jpg
     


  2. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Holy shi-
    Two Pica200s? That's insane! In that case, there can be even further debate as to whether this is using the '06 or '08 model.

    Of course, we all should take this with a grain of salt. Though it's plausable, given the extremely low power requirements of the pica200.
     
  3. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's kind of sexual. Lol for a minute I though it said "Vibrator Motor". I'm tired.
     
  4. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    I threw it Engadget's way. They might like it.
     
  5. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    I'm worried about the price.
     
  6. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    With what we've seen from The Naked Sample, I wouldn't be surprised if this were true.
     
  7. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nintendo aren't known for mega extortionate prices. Besides I'm sure someone from Nintendo said it would cost under $200. I think it was someone from Nintendo.
     
  8. Scorpin200

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    At first when this system comes out it doesn't matter what game it is everything will seem interesting in 3d, so im not surprised by everyone instantly wanting to develop for the 3ds.
     
  9. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,591
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong if I see a Zelda game and then see a Tetris 3D game, I get the Zelda game 'cause Zelda should be a better game...
     
  10. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Wowee! 2 GPUs and VRAMs? Double the delight, to be sure.

    A devoted CPU for each screen means that everyone who was fretting about the 3DS having ugly graphics because of it having to process the 3D effect can put their minds at ease. [​IMG]
     
  11. pachura

    Member pachura GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Despite I can only see two (not three) camera connectors, and two WiFi units (what for?), the diagram looks convincing. I doubt they'll use 400Mhz chips, but at least for non-stereoscopic games, developers could use one Pica200 to render the upper half of the screen and the second one for the lower.
     
  12. lostdwarf
    OP

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could have one wifi unit doing all the crosspass stuff and the other for multiplayer, so you can play a game online while it downloads new levels for another game using the other unit?

    Strange only 2x camera's. Maybe one hitches a ride on the other input somehow?
     
  13. Okami Wolfen

    Member Okami Wolfen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
  14. hova1

    Member hova1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Germany
    the diagram shows 2 cameras, but the 3DS has 3 cameras. this can't be right.
     
  15. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It can be front and back camera, not each of them.
    else, it would be the same for each input as button, pad, and analo ? oh, they forgot to connect the chipset with the inputs [​IMG]
     
  16. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Could it be that they have both GPUs powering the 3D screen, one for each angle?
     
  17. tijntje_7

    Member tijntje_7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What about the bottom screen? :/
     
  18. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    You might have noticed that, since the bottom screen is smaller, it is playing a smaller role in games. It won't be doing any heavy duty visuals. No dev wants all their impressive graphics on a small 2D screen. I'm thinkin it will be mainly used for its touch screen. Since this will almost certainly have an ARM7 CPU, they could have that handle the bottom screen like they did with the DS.
     
  19. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's actually a variant of the PICA Chip, a PICA Central Hub Unit.
     
  20. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania

Share This Page