qtendo

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Hi everyone,

I have had my 3ds XL for quite a while, I think i bought it somewhere in 2014. At the time i bought Pokemon Y and got a free download of Super Mario 3D Land with it.

When i started playing Mario some days later, I enjoyed the game until i got to world 2-2. The game froze, I didn't think much of it and restarted. The game froze again, and so on. I tried googling but did not really find an answer. I reinstalled, tried to put my 3DS back to factory settings, but it didn't work. I just went back to playing Pokemon, and after that I also bought Alpha Sapphire and just played that without problems. I have those 2 games on cartridge.

Now, when because of quarantine I have some time on my hands, I thought it would be nice to get custom firmware on my 3ds. I followed the guide and got it working. I downloaded Mario kart 7, and i got freezes again, this time on Mario circuit every time. I got curious, started searching again, and downloaded a new CIA of Mario 3D Land. It freezes again, at exactly the same world. What is going wrong here? I am going to try some more games, but I really am at a loss here. Only things I can think of is a hardware error or a faulty SD card.

Hope someone can help!

Vorde

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
I would run diagnostics on the SD card itself to see if there's a problem with it. If there is, just try another or replace it.
If that doesn't work, I would be restoring it back to factory defaults, and playing a game on card for a while and see if it freezes. See if anything happens differently.
Those games shouldn't be freezing, if it's on stock and using a gamecard and it's still freezing, I would be having someone take a look at it as it could be hardware problems

qtendo

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Thanks for replying! I did all of the above, H2testw gave verified everything. Does this cancel out a faulty sd?

Trophies
XP
Country
United States