1. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    I've tested Pokémon Alpha Sapphire. So far, it runs pretty good.

    The biggest problem I've found so far is when you try to close the content (the game) from the menu, it freezes RetroArch. The only way to solve this is to exit to the system menu using the Home button and close the app with X. The console won't be able but it will end the process anyways a few seconds later.
    In-game save works perfectly even with this problem.
     
    Last edited by WiiEJECT, Jul 2, 2020
  2. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    United States
    I will never understand why Nintendo just didn't make the cartridges the same size as the 3DS to provide Backwards Compatibility.
     
    azoreseuropa likes this.
  3. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,832
    Country:
    Portugal
    Huh ? What are you talking bout ? Megaman Star Force Games ? It was for Nintendo DS. Not 3DS. :) Aren't you talking about Mega Man Legacy Collection for 3DS?
     
  4. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,783
    Country:
    United States
    Because then they'd have to make an emulator that flawlessly emulates every game, or include extra hardware that'd increase costs and software that'd decrease security.
     
    Last edited by ZachyCatGames, Jul 2, 2020
  5. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    United States
    They should have did a Sony move back in the day with the launch PS3 just put some 3DS hardware inside the switch considering they was retiring the 3DS they could have kept the Legacy DS and 3DS store still on the switch they kinda would have made more money by doing that.

    The only people who got that right was Microsoft all other companies are just forgetting their legacy systems.I don't have a problem paying a premium price for a system that offers BC. When time passes the older systems will break and atleast the newer systems can support your older games without you have to spend a fortune on older systems.
     
    Last edited by Goku1992A, Jul 2, 2020
  6. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Country:
    Germany
    that's harder than you think. The 3DS carried three and a half generations of backwards compability, which meant it had a ton of hardware and hardware with special modes just for legacy purposes (3DS, DSi, DS and GBA).

    3DS isolates user processes pretty well, so you wouldn't need to include all the hardware. It would maybe possible to even reuse the processor and still you would need to include both DSP and GPU for full compability. Including those would be difficult for Nintendo, since afaik previously Nintendo had control over the entire main package (where they put all the processors and custom hardware like the GPU). The nvidia tegra package in the switch is very much an off the shelve component compared to that.
     
    Tyvar1, TheCasualties and FanNintendo like this.
  7. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    United States
    I understand I think my 3DS doesn't play DS games (physical ) or maybe my cartridge slot is broken I never owned a 3DS game to test hehe . On the software side my 3DS can play the DS games with twilight but the GBA games are a no go (unless you inject them) I never attempted to play GBC or GBA on the 3DS so I wouldn't know.

    It just would be really cool if you can play all of that on the switch emulators can only perform so much
     
  8. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    892
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you are right switch is really cool alot of emulators on it are getting better and better. If you have hacked your 3DS then go check Twilight Menu ++ these are good for DS it doesnt matter if your slot is broken. if You want to get that slot fix so good luck which way you want to take it here https://gbatemp.net/threads/ds-i-3d...-ds-i-games-and-ds-i-menu-replacement.472200/
    plus there is daedule X64 fo N64 also PS1 those are getting improvement on 3DS
     
    Last edited by FanNintendo, Jul 2, 2020
  9. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I have twilight installed... I actually had a physical copy of pokemon soul silver and pokemon white but it was never recognized by my 3DS. I just want to point out Twilight doesnt work for all DS games I dont remember if it was Megaman Advent or Megaman XZ Advent but one of them got stuck on a black screen.

    I just use Drastic on my phone since it has the built in cheat menu. Citra on my phone isn't too half bad I think the only game that didn't play well was the mario tennis 3DS and Mario 3D Land I just dont want to carry my Switch Lite and 3DS I'm trying to reduce my handhelds.
     
    Last edited by Goku1992A, Jul 2, 2020
    FanNintendo likes this.
  10. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    892
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I think you should go over to https://gbatemp.net/threads/ds-i-3d...-ds-i-games-and-ds-i-menu-replacement.472200/ and ask Robz8 im sure he will help you better than me.
     
    Goku1992A likes this.
  11. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    892
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by FanNintendo, Jul 2, 2020
  12. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it I think some games worked and others didn't work correctly on MelonDS I beleive it could never recognize my soul silver save but the one on retroarch recognized it fine. The same thing applied to my mega man save. My issue with the retroarch core was the touch screen never worked.

    I mainly used it to play Megaman and Pokemon
     
  13. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    892
    Country:
    United States
    have u updated the latest stable build 1.8.8 or the latest melonDS few post down >> https://gbatemp.net/threads/melonds-for-switch.518300/page-62 on catlover007
     
  14. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    United States
    FanNintendo likes this.
  15. AshenWolf

    OP AshenWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Philippines
    Ooooof. Oh yes, that's right. Guess my excitement took over. lol
     
  16. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,832
    Country:
    Portugal
    Sorry to keep you wait. Busy. Anyway.. It works fine but slow! Remember, it is in beta.
     
    AshenWolf likes this.
  17. limerain

    limerain Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    There are no emulator for 3ds? Check my post history
    its pretty playable
     
  18. AshenWolf

    OP AshenWolf GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks :D
     
    azoreseuropa likes this.
  19. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,832
    Country:
    Portugal
    This thread is about 3DS emulator on Nintendo Switch, ok ?
     
  20. limerain

    limerain Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    Yes its ok. And the post I have talked about is in the context too.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulation, Switch,