Homebrew 2ds no longer boots properly after installing arm9loaderhax

HoboEater

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
52
Country
Canada
So basically I've been having the same problem as the OP in this thread:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/2ds-wont-boot.433654/

I've been following the guide at https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-3-(arm9loaderhax) and
after installing arm9loaderhax (Section IV), my 2DS gets a black screen when powered on and shuts off after a few seconds. Booting without the SD card causes it to the same but shut off even faster.

I've tried multiple SD cards and it doesn't seem to change anything. I can however boot into Luma or hourglass if I delete the config.bin.

Anyone have any ideas?
 

MadMageKefka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
1,672
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
World of ruin
XP
1,878
Country
United States
So basically I've been having the same problem as the OP in this thread:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/2ds-wont-boot.433654/

I've been following the guide at https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-3-(arm9loaderhax) and
after installing arm9loaderhax (Section IV), my 2DS gets a black screen when powered on and shuts off after a few seconds. Booting without the SD card causes it to the same but shut off even faster.

I've tried multiple SD cards and it doesn't seem to change anything. I can however boot into Luma or hourglass if I delete the config.bin.

Anyone have any ideas?
The fact that you can boot payloads or the luma config, also the 3ds shutting itself off quickly with no sd card inserted, proves that you did not brick at least. Have you restored your nand backup from earlier in the guide yet?
 

HoboEater

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
52
Country
Canada
The fact that you can boot payloads or the luma config, also the 3ds shutting itself off quickly with no sd card inserted, proves that you did not brick at least. Have you restored your nand backup from earlier in the guide yet?

That's really good news. Do I just copy and paste the backed up files9 into my SD card?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
That's really good news. Do I just copy and paste the backed up files9 into my SD card?
And boot into hourglass9 and restore your NAND backup.

If it was a problem being on 2.1 though you'd get an error message saying an old firm has been detected.

Did you try formatting the SD cards and copying fresh files onto them? And are they 32GB or less?
 

The Koopa Kingdom

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 14, 2015
Messages
71
Trophies
0
Location
Castle Grounds
XP
314
Country
United States
And boot into hourglass9 and restore your NAND backup.

If it was a problem being on 2.1 though you'd get an error message saying an old firm has been detected.

Did you try formatting the SD cards and copying fresh files onto them? And are they 32GB or less?
Not necessarily, a 2DS I A9LH'd wouldn't show the old firm error message despite being on 2.1, it would just black screen.

I just continued with the guide, restoring the backup, and that worked out fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

MadMageKefka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
1,672
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
World of ruin
XP
1,878
Country
United States
And boot into hourglass9 and restore your NAND backup.

If it was a problem being on 2.1 though you'd get an error message saying an old firm has been detected.

Did you try formatting the SD cards and copying fresh files onto them? And are they 32GB or less?
It unlikely that the problem is the sd card, or it would probably have trouble loading the payloads and luma config.

That's really good news. Do I just copy and paste the backed up files9 into my SD card?
You should have a NAND.bin file and a Nand.bin.sha or something close to that file name. You should have been prompted to make the backup when flashing over the ctrnand image for 2.1. If you follow thw guide and dont skip steps it would tell you to both make and restore this backup at the corrwct points in time. I assume you didnt finish the guide yet, right?
 

HoboEater

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
52
Country
Canada
Not necessarily, a 2DS I A9LH'd wouldn't show the old firm error message despite being on 2.1, it would just black screen.

I just continued with the guide, restoring the backup, and that worked out fine.

Yes this is what happend to me as well. I continued the guide but after restoring, it wouldn't work anymore.

Anyways I'm restoring my backup NAND files in hourglass right now. If all goes well, do I just reformat the SD card afterwards and start back from the first section in part 3 of the guide?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

No luck. Restoring sysNAND using my backup doesn't seem to have changed much.
 

MadMageKefka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
1,672
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
World of ruin
XP
1,878
Country
United States
Yes this is what happend to me as well. I continued the guide but after restoring, it wouldn't work anymore.

Anyways I'm restoring my backup NAND files in hourglass right now. If all goes well, do I just reformat the SD card afterwards and start back from the first section in part 3 of the guide?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

No luck. Restoring sysNAND using my backup doesn't seem to have changed much.
Hmm, did you check the NAND file size with those in the guide? Its possible that you got a bad dump. If thats the case you can flash a ctrnand image on 9.2, then update from there. Just found out you can do that from another thread i read today. Ill link it if i can find it.
 

HoboEater

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
52
Country
Canada
The ctrtransfer worked! Everything booted properly and is working well. I'm a little scared to do the next step where it says:

"Update your CFW SysNAND to the latest version using system settings"

In my system settings it says "Sys 9.2.0-20U", but I remember that CFW's were supposed to have a different prefix? Is it safe to update?

Thanks so much for your help everyone !
 

nyaadono

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
42
Country
United States
The ctrtransfer worked! Everything booted properly and is working well. I'm a little scared to do the next step where it says:

"Update your CFW SysNAND to the latest version using system settings"

In my system settings it says "Sys 9.2.0-20U", but I remember that CFW's were supposed to have a different prefix? Is it safe to update?

Thanks so much for your help everyone !
I literally just joined but yes, the prefix is the "Sys" part of "Sys 9.2.0-20U" And it's safe to update, don't worry I was scared too lol.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
The ctrtransfer worked! Everything booted properly and is working well. I'm a little scared to do the next step where it says:

"Update your CFW SysNAND to the latest version using system settings"

In my system settings it says "Sys 9.2.0-20U", but I remember that CFW's were supposed to have a different prefix? Is it safe to update?

Thanks so much for your help everyone !
"Ver." Is what it says when you have a stock system. You're all good :-)
 

MadMageKefka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
1,672
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
World of ruin
XP
1,878
Country
United States
The ctrtransfer worked! Everything booted properly and is working well. I'm a little scared to do the next step where it says:

"Update your CFW SysNAND to the latest version using system settings"

In my system settings it says "Sys 9.2.0-20U", but I remember that CFW's were supposed to have a different prefix? Is it safe to update?

Thanks so much for your help everyone !
The guide says in all bold: "Yes this is safe, stop asking!" ....what do you think? Sorry to be rude but come on.... At least read the darn thing....
 

MadMageKefka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
1,672
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
World of ruin
XP
1,878
Country
United States
Haha sorry, my bad memory made me think that Sys was the stock prefix. Thanks for the clarifications!
Since you have a9lh u cant boot without luma or some other cfw and luma protects important files during a normal system update. Its impossible to mess up so long as you already have a9lh and luma. Just clarifying why there is no need to worry. Glad everything worked out for you! Enjoy your new (improved) toy!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/5_yMwLMHhjc?feature=share