2 Question about softmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mrbearz, Apr 25, 2009.

Apr 25, 2009

2 Question about softmii by mrbearz at 2:38 AM (627 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. mrbearz
    OP

    Newcomer mrbearz Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I have 2 questions

    1. Should i wait for softmii 3.0 or just install 2.1.1


    2. Do you need to install preloader to work softmii, cause i really don't want to take the risk of the brick. I just wanna stay with starfall.

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    well on the second question i used softmii on about four wiis now and have not had a problem and in the guide it tells you what to do and in the process you will remove preloader if you have it installed anyway so don't install it and follow the guide

    on the first Q i would wait for 3.0 because it should be out in less than 48 hours and that will give you 4.0 but if you want disc channel loading and custom themes right now use 2.1.1 you'll just be on 3.2 until you update
     
  3. mrbearz
    OP

    Newcomer mrbearz Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't understand the 2nd question answer. Mind explaining it more clearer?
     
  4. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you don't need preloader to install softmii
    if you have it already installing softmii will reinstall the system menu so it will remove preloader
    i have not had one brick even when telling someone how to do it over yahoo messenger with a webcam
    starfall and preloader are made by the same person and preloader is more safer because it lets you go to the homebrew channel
     
  5. mrbearz
    OP

    Newcomer mrbearz Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    wait so i need to reinstall my system menu, EVEN if i have 3.2u already installed? -__- This is getting confusing now.
     
  6. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    Preloader will not brick your Wii unless you are stupid, and it is much better then Starfall, as it allows you to access hacks and boot the HBC directly.

    The only reason you should reinstall the system menu is if you want to remove EVERYTHING you have accomplished with softmii, that is, except the presence of the HBC. Also, doing so is will erase starfall and it is MUCH riskier then simply installing preloader.

    Seeing as you are a newcomer and don't seem to know much about this, I recommend you get MiiWii(use the search function) and you will be happy and your Wii will be safe AS LONG AS you follow the guide.
     

Share This Page