2 [Dumb] Questions, Downsampling and Overclocking

CompassNorth

Denko (´・ω・`)
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey dandylions, I'm not experienced with overclocking and I just wanted to know if MoBos plays a factor in GPU overclocking.

It's a 970 MoBo which should be decent/good, but the thing is MSI decided to cheap out on the VRM heatsink for my specific model, I know this plays a factor with the CPU overclocking which is why I will not do a CPU overclock, not sure about GPU though.

It shouldn't, right? It has it's own board after all.

Also since my current monitor only support 1440x900 I was thinking of downsampling to 1080p. I'm getting a nvidia card so this should be easy, but this doesn't somehow ruin the monitor or GPU, right? Even if I play all games downsampled?

Sorry for the questions. ;_;

stay cool pewdiepie bros
/brofist

Celice

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
You could still try an overclock on the CPU. Don't touch voltage, and just bump up its clocks and stress test along the way. If you're super cautious, once you find a stable point, back off a chunk. It will get warmer, but if you watch your temps and compare to what they are on average when under stress/load (like when you game or whatever), you can find a comfort zone for you.

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country
Graphics cards get most of their energy direct from the PSU, and have their own VRMs built in. Motherboards affect performance, but not overclockability of the GPU.

No matter what resolution you play at, it won't "ruin" the monitor or graphics. However it's always recommended that you play at the native resolution of your monitor. It generally looks better that way.

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland