Yet ANOTHER ST thread!

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by TheRealeDeale, Dec 12, 2009.

Dec 12, 2009

Yet ANOTHER ST thread! by TheRealeDeale at 10:44 PM (1,459 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. TheRealeDeale
    OP

    Newcomer TheRealeDeale Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So, I'm using the latest Cyclo firmware, the 1.5.64 beta or whichever. As you've no doubt figured out by now, the train controls in my version of spirit tracks aren't showing up. The patch is entirely useless; there are no instructions for it whatsoever, and all i've ever found on the matter only say "use the patch, and there you have it!". Which is useless. What do I actually have to do? Please...I've been trying to figure this out for the past few hours, and even made a new email/account to get on here after i forgot my info for allllll my other ones.
     
  2. blainy

    Member blainy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    australia
    Country:
    Australia
    of course it has instructions.....well, at least teh version i downloaded had instructions.....

    make sure the game and the patch have the same name, then run the batch file.....cant be more simple really..
     
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Rename the ROM as "xpa-lzst.nds", put it in the same folder as the patch, and run the batch file.

    ...But I'm pretty sure you don't need it, because i think CycloDS updated to fix Spirit Tracks.
     
  4. bluufish

    Newcomer bluufish Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    The Cyclods doesnt need an update to play spirit tracks
    I beat the game on 1.56 beta 3 D:
     
  5. TheRealeDeale
    OP

    Newcomer TheRealeDeale Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Well, for whatever reason, it didnt work on my 1.56 until i applied the patch. Now the train controls are working, but....
    my save is gone!
    but wait! before you say "why, TheRealeDeale, that problem is common! There's a thread on it on the first page!" I'll have to tell you that I've
    a) read those threads
    and
    b) understand nothing about how i fix it, only that my save file size is wrong.

    I don't care why it's gone, I just need to fix it. And I haven't been able to find any save past the forest temple; iff that even is the right way of going about it.
     
  6. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    1. Read the NFO that comes with the patch.
    2. Stop forgetting your login info and making GBAtemp accounts.
    3. If your save file is the problem, use this one.
     
  7. TheRealeDeale
    OP

    Newcomer TheRealeDeale Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    All the NFO's I found were either corrupted, or unreadable because I lacked the program (I was told they opened with Notepad, but a search for Notepad didn't really help much).
    So, to use this save (it works on the Cyclo, I can only assume), I take an unpatched, "clean" copy of the ROM (which is to say, it would normally not have working train controls?), put this save in the same folder as it, and give them the same name?
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Evo firmware 1.56 beta 5 supposedly fixes Spirit Tracks so that it just works without the crack or the save file (I haven't tested this myself, but reports at the TC forums have been favorable).

    For earlier versions, you need both the AP crack (not the "clean" rom) and the 1MB save file. The crack fixes the missing train controls, and the save file fixes the game not saving, so you need both.
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    .nfo (Info) files are just plain text... You can open them with ANY text reader.
    Just right click -> Open with -> Notepad / Wordpad / Notepad++ / Microsoft Word / OpenOffice Writer.

    But if you're having this much trouble simply opening a text file, I fear patching the game in the provided way will be beyond you.
    Download xdelta UI: http://filetrip.net/f6934-xdelta-UI.html
    Extract it to the folder with the LoZ:ST patch.
    Copy your game to the folder.
    Run the xdeltaUI.exe
    On the line for Patch, press Open and choose the patch file (usually ends with "xdelta").
    On the line for Source File, press Open and choose your ROM.
    On the line for Output File, press ... and choose a NEW name for your patched ROM.
    Press Patch on the bottom.
     
  10. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    I've never seen a PC that didn't already have Notepad on it. Right click > Open With... > Notepad didn't work? Seriously? I'm guessing your problems are going to boil down to a lot of user error. The game should already work on the Cyclo firmware you claim to use.
     

Share This Page