Hacking write games through phone (Sky3ds)

Gramnegative

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2013
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
82
Country
I dont have a microsd cardreader on my computer. Is it possible to use diskwriter with my android phone connected to the pc to write games to the microsd?
 

shadowofdarkness

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2007
Messages
536
Trophies
1
XP
2,276
Country
Canada
Probably if you have a Android phone that is still capable of USB mass storage instead of the newer MTP protocol. If it still does USB mass storage it is basically nothing more then a card reader.
 

Fire_Slasher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
189
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
142
Country
Brazil
I think it's possible but keep in mind that you still need to format the micro sd card for diskwriter so if you don't have already you need one card just for diskwriter.
 

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,042
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,292
Country
United States
The disk writer tool can be picky about what it is writing to. I use a windows tablet that has a built in micro sd slot. Every time I tried to write to it it gave me errors and all of my games would lock up. Eventually I switched to a micro sd usb adapter and all of my problems went away.

I think if you have too many links in the chain it may cause issues.
 

DjoeN

Captain Haddock!
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,489
Trophies
0
Age
54
Location
Somewhere in this potatoland!
Website
djoen.dommel.be
XP
2,857
Country
Belgium
It's nopt that hard to buy a SD USB adapter
Something like this:

16006183
 

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,033
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,299
Country
China
It's nopt that hard to buy a SD USB adapter
Something like this:

snip

or one of thoose cheap multi card readers..they are pretty cheap and common..
i got one that EVEN reads MINI SD without adapters for 10€
but it shouldn't be hard to find a cheap card reader with micro sd slot for about 3€...
 

Gramnegative

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2013
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
82
Country
I added 3 games to my SanDisk Class 10 MicroSD. THe problem is I cant switch games. If i take out the MicroSD and press the blue button it might sometimes (not always) switch between 2 games, the third one doesnt even show up. Any idea how to fix this?
 

Solar47

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
22
Trophies
0
XP
58
Country
United States
I added 3 games to my SanDisk Class 10 MicroSD. THe problem is I cant switch games. If i take out the MicroSD and press the blue button it might sometimes (not always) switch between 2 games, the third one doesnt even show up. Any idea how to fix this?
maybe by going through your phone to put roms the phone added other files/folders thats messing it up.

Why not spend a dollar or 2 on a Micro SD Reader?
 

pu1se80

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2014
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
159
Country
United States
Yeah, I think for this to work the Sky team would have to release an Android version of their Diskwriter software. I don't think there are any real ways to emulate a windows environment in Android. I could be mistaken but I doubt it.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's a ryzen 9 after all
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    the 5950x isn't that much different
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    just moar cores
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    overkill for any gamer
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $250 is decent though
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Think I'm going to cave and get the 5700G and do a matx build
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    a current gen i5 is plenty,next is RAM size, and then GPU depending on the kinda setting and game you play
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    @K3Nv2 why the G-series?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    On board graphics it'll just be a ps3 emu machine
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    easier to troubleshoot? or gpu comes later?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Won't need a GPU with G series for emulation
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    I won't upgrade untill the day comes I can't play the games with my current hardware or something breaks
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's equivalent to a gt 560 which should be enough for ps3
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I won't need to hack a 360 @BigOnYa :tpi:
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    well, if you get a gud enuf PSU, you could futureproof it incase you actually need the gpu down the line
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I got a spare 650w some place
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    https://a.co/d/4aQazgy not bad for a $40 case
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    for me a 650w is base
    line
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    very gud case, but make sure you have the kinda PSU with very flexible cables
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i know people with this exact case
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nah hog tie the cables
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd like one with support for a couple 3.5" bays though
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    not that, some psu like those corsair rm series stock cables have very big knicks that make it impossible to fit in there
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    my friend had to order some custom cables for it
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://a.co/d/h8Cvjh1