1. dlxro

    dlxro Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    I know softmod is great with all the possibilities and features, but I just said it's a bit annoying you know being checking stuff each time, that is if you're a bit lazy, so far wiikey 1 (until I got problems not sure if it's softmod or hardware) was working fine, it was more easier, but in the end softmod is more practical as you said.

    I think unless someone makes a good chip, with a good support (making updates each time it's needed), softmod will continue to be the best choice.

    As for the person who made the topic, I think you should softmod too, I don't know for how much time WODE team will give support to the chip, that's the main problem with installing modchips.
     
  2. justmike

    justmike GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Australia
    WODE is delayed because they fell short of the plastic used to manufacture it.

    The reason why I have placed my order is because of the GameCube loading via USB.

    If you are not interested in that, you would just use a USB loader.

    Also, it is a good idea to softmod so you can play WiiWare games.
     
  3. sa2am

    sa2am Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    hi, at to momment i have a 'mod-chip' in my wii.

    Q. Is it possible to soft mod my wii, with the mod-chip inside.


    P.S. sorry to hijack post, but i guess it on 'semi-same' topic.
     
  4. justmike

    justmike GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Australia
    I just got my WODE. The joystick won't go down, it happens during shipment, it swings in the package so you have to unscrew the bottom and push it hard. You have to fiddle around with it. Argh, it is annoying so far, can't get it right. Heading to the WODE forums or might ask to get an exchange!
     
  5. justmike

    justmike GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Australia
    I took off the white cap and all directions work, might play around with that later.
     
  6. nikeymikey

    nikeymikey This is now a Spiderman thread.........
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So can u tell us does GC ISO loading from USB work????

    If it definately does i will order one but purely for that will continue to use CFG USB loader for my wii games.
     
  7. justmike

    justmike GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Australia
    I got it for the GC loading as well. I also want to test it for games that don't work on CFG USB like Sam & Max and see if it has the memory issue associated with DLC for guitar hero.

    I will let you guys know once I fixed the joystick.
     
  8. justmike

    justmike GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes!! GC ISO loading works via usb loading on the WODE. That is pretty cool. So you can have both Wii games and GC on the same hard drive.
     
  9. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How does the Wode handle the new BCA protection?
    I understand there's a NSMB patch, but that's just a hotfix for that game only right?
    So what about other games. Do you have patch the BCA into the iso, or does it work with external .bca files, or something else perhaps?
     
  10. djbubba2002

    djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    Yes i like the WODE .. i waited along time , and it works 100%
     
  11. Fun_Zephyr

    Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Yes, you can use a separate bca file. You get the BCA Data, run it through a Hex Editor and save. The 64Byte file then gets calld the same file name as the ISO file and placed in the same directory:

    ISO\New Super Mario Bros Wii.iso
    ISO\New Super Mario Bros Wii.bca

    Works flawlessly.

    If you have a Disc and use Flad Mode you need to set teh BCA at Offset 0x100 - however you do that.
     
  12. technisearch

    technisearch Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    WODE is great.

    But if you have 4.2 you will still need to softmod a tad. eg. use geckoOS to load other regions.

    I am very happy with it. What's with all the hype with the game cube feature? Are there some amazing titles on GC?
     
  13. Tonitonichopchop

    Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    The gamecube has a ton of awesome games. Part of the reason I'm buying it is to play gamecube games with my usb drive. Backups work for a while, but they become a hassle very quickly when they get scratched, lost etc.
     
  14. bcass

    bcass Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anyone know what Wii homebrew app I can use to dump GameCube games to an NTSF USB HDD?
     
  15. BenieUK

    BenieUK GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    SuperDump will dump to SDCARD/HD if FAT32 then you copy to NTFS HD [​IMG]
     
  16. bcass

    bcass Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent, cheers. I couldn't get it to work at first (kept freezing at the "Initializing DVD" message) then realised that you need to have the WODE in Flat Mode so the app can read from the DVD.
     
  17. djbubba2002

    djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    yeah , i like the WODE.. i am still learning how to run it ..
     
  18. bcass

    bcass Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume that GC-Tool is the best app for scrubbing GameCube ISOs (and that the WODE can read scrubbed GC ISOs)?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Modchip,