Wireless Access Point

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Fusion, Nov 13, 2008.

Nov 13, 2008

Wireless Access Point by Fusion at 3:10 PM (872 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Hi,

    Just wondering how to create a wireless access point with a D-Link DWA-510? any software i need, or do i need to buy a wireless AP adator?

    or

    If i cant via the above method, is it hard to create a access point if i convert the nintendo usb wifi into a soft-ap?

    thanks peeps [​IMG]
     
  2. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    UPDATE:- ok, i created & connected to the wifi signal but i cant browse the net on my iphone, any one have ideas to fix this problem? [​IMG]
     
  3. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Nope, still no luck. Anyone know some help please?
     
  4. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    you need to supply more info - how is the internet working ... is it using a cable ?

    Have you got a cabled and wireless card on your PC ?

    Have you tried connection sharing or bridging ?
     
  5. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Well my internet is through mobile broadband (on usb modem)

    I got ethernet & a wireless b/g D-Link DWA-510 card, though in my case the ethernet is not needed

    I got connection sharing running (doing nothing btw), bridging only workd for ethernet modems so there for it will not work in my case. This type of internet only comes on usb modems so buying a new modem is also out of the question unforunatly.
     
  6. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Im going to humpty bumpty this [​IMG]

    Need help. Stat! [​IMG]
     
  7. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    One last bump on this. :/

    P-L-E-A-S-E?
     
  8. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    The signal is there & can be found & locked onto by anything wifi (phones,psp etc.) but once your ready to browse the net, it cant connect to any websites but the signal is getting accessed but it just looks like its not getting passed on the pc net connection.

    I need to access cydia repos & other stuff that i cant find by just using my pc connection.

    So unless someone knows how to access repo's via your pc then that will help too. [​IMG]

    Please obi-wan, your our only hope.
     
  9. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Can the computer access the internet at that time? I think you might have set your ICS wrong.

    Are you connected to the modem through USB?
     
  10. Fusion
    OP

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    The computer can browse the net, yes as its not wireless. I need the wifi card to send off the signal of the usb modem but cant, figure it out. The signal is there i attach to it but the signal dont seem to pass along that im connect to the net so it does seem like a ICS problem but i dont know where to look, i got them in the same family of ips. :/
     

Share This Page