Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. serenade.63

    serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    When you first format the emunand is it not basically an exact copy? so would it not be the same region at first is the question i thought he was asking.
     
  2. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,096
    yes when emunand is set up its a clone of your current nand (unless thats somehow different for karl3DS....but i doubt it).....changing regions etc requires additional steps
     
  3. Dazzozo

    Dazzozo KRAZOA PALACE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    Well we haven't even written a tool for formatting emunand yet, so... not really?
     
  4. serenade.63

    serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    Either way that emunand had to have been made from a nand dump right? I'm assuming then that it would be the same region initially. Am I wrong?
     
  5. Dazzozo

    Dazzozo KRAZOA PALACE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    Sure? I could've region changed it before I even booted it once, so I'm not sure what the relevance of that is.
     
  6. Zidapi

    Zidapi GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,092
    Country:
    After you've created your emuNAND, you can change it's region from it's original Japanese for example, to US having access to the US eShop etc...

    I think it's already achievable with the tools we have available, but it's a complicated process and requires a sacrificial donor console.
     
  7. w0dash

    w0dash noob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Why?
     
  8. shinyquagsire23

    shinyquagsire23 SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,970
    Country:
    United States
    Because NNIDs are linked to console serials, and it will refuse you access to the eShop if it detects a wrong region serial.
     
    codychaosx and w0dash like this.
  9. Psi-hate

    Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    So can you have say, a British 3DS and an American 3DS, and use the American 3DS' region files, would both 3DS be able to be used online at the same time?
     
  10. boomie0123

    boomie0123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States

    And since the SecureInfo_A is the same across 3DS and N3DS consoles, you could just grab one from your old 3DS without having to drop the $200 on a N3DS. At least that's what my understanding is.
     
    Codename and codychaosx like this.
  11. lPolarisl

    lPolarisl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Hungary
    I love cereals !

    *leaves*
     
  12. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States

    I was only offering for food and drinks...
     
  13. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States

    So this is emunand on the N3DS correct? Did you guys find a way to identify emunand/sysnand, kind of like the way GW changed the firmware version showing "GW".
     
  14. Zidapi

    Zidapi GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,092
    Country:
    Unlikely, which is why I said "sacrificial". The donar would likely never be able to go online again, doing so could result in both being banned.
     
  15. sniperseyes

    sniperseyes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    If I could use my n3ds I wouldn't mind never touching my o3ds, I never really played online anyway.
     
  16. Dazzozo

    Dazzozo KRAZOA PALACE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    At the moment I'm just using the fun "EMUNAND" and "SYSNAND" in folders, but vandalising the version number shouldn't be too difficult.
     
    Margen67, Codename and VinsCool like this.
  17. marksteele

    marksteele GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    Canada
    Commence the arguments over what the version number should be vandalized with. :P
     
    logg likes this.
  18. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,198
    Country:
    Canada
    I already smell it:

    KARL 9.5-23

    :lol:
     
    2Hack and Codename like this.
  19. Gadorach

    Gadorach Electronics Engineering Technologist
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Country:
    Canada
    Wouldn't it be logical to just use "KARL3DS X.X.X-XXx"?

    Additionally, would it be possible to override the hard-reboot when leaving the System Settings app? It's a pain having to re-execute the exploit every time you accidentally tap system settings, or want to change a wireless access point.
     
  20. shinyquagsire23

    shinyquagsire23 SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,970
    Country:
    United States
    Well we're replacing "Ver." (4 characters), so it would have to be like K3DS or KARL or something.
     
    Death78793 and VinsCool like this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Loadcode, KARL3DS, Ninjhax

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.