windows

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by matthewd997, Feb 21, 2008.

Feb 21, 2008

windows by matthewd997 at 6:41 PM (4,463 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. matthewd997
    OP

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    k, i have three questions i am bursting to know the answer for:

    1. is there a emulator that will emulate a windows system on DS
    2. if so, can it play .exe files
    3. is there any way to run .exe files on a NDS
     


  2. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    1. No
    2. No
    3. No
     
  3. matthewd997
    OP

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh, i was sure i heard of a windows emulator tho?
     
  4. Requisite

    Newcomer Requisite Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Absolutely somewhere.
    Country:
    United States
    Google it.
    If you don't manage to find anything, you were mistaken.
     
  5. stormwolf18

    Member stormwolf18 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
    worse idea ever
     
  6. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Windows can't emulate DS, so there's a hint as to what the DS is capable of emulating.
     
  7. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not even 3.1?
     
  8. matthewd997
    OP

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, ok, stop takin the piss out of my idea
     
  9. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    There is some kind of Mac OS ported to the DS. That or DSLinux is as good as you are going to get.
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    There was a port of DOSbox to the DS as a proof-of-concept, but it ran incredibly slowly and was never released as a result. That's as close to Windows as you're going to get.

    You can use SCUMMVM DS to play some old DOS-era PC games if you'd like. There's the port of Linux to the DS, DSLinux, and the Mac emulator, Mini Vmac DS, but nothing for Windows.
     
  11. fateastray

    Member fateastray GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why would you want to infect your DS with the windows virus, anyway? To play exes? The DS would only be able to emulate 3.1 and that could only run suprold stuff like...Jazz Jackrabbit or somthing....Okay, now see a good use for your idea! O_O
     
  12. matthewd997
    OP

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh, ok then
     
  13. sepinho

    Member sepinho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    Germany
    That'd be close enough.. [​IMG]

    Just yesterday, I was thinking how cool it would be to have DOSBox on the DS. Just imagine: X-Com, the (really) old Ultima episodes.. The possibilities would be endless.
     
  14. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I know i'm probably the only person here who thinks this, but I really enjoyed the Learning Company games as a child. The Treasureland series were some off the best edutainment ever. T'would kick ass to have them on DS. Rayman Dos too.
     
  15. aeSentinel

    Newcomer aeSentinel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I think he must have been talking about that remote access homebrew program for Windows. DS2Win or something, I think it was called.

    The only handheld consoles I've seen Windows run on are the PSP (Win 95) and GP2X (Win 3.11 through DOSBox). Both are superior to the Nintendo DS and both ran far too slowly for any practical use, so you're out of luck. As for Mac OS, I believe it was System 6 or 7 that can be emulated. They're nowhere near as advanced as OS X is, so that's why the DS can emulate them.
     
  16. matthewd997
    OP

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so there is no way whatsoever that i can make my DS run .exe files
     
  17. Seina

    Newcomer Seina Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    An x86 emulator would be nice, something we could copy DOS system files into. Is it impossible to port or run Bochs?
     
  18. Hidekiadam

    Newcomer Hidekiadam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    York
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hihi

    The 8MHz ARM2 in the Acorn Archimedes A3000 was capable of running PC software at a speed that wasn't too bad, albeit 8086 only

    This is because the emulation was done in assembly, most modern DOS emulators are written in C, hence they suck.

    There's no reason at all why a reasonably fast 8086 emulator couldn't be written (66MHz ARM9 is much faster than an 8MHz ARM2), perhaps even a 286 or 386 emulator (although things get very hairy with the 386 and you'd have the MMU problem to contend with too)

    So I suppose the short answer is no to windows, possibly yes to DOS games, I certainly don't think such as pinball fantasies are out of the question

    I'd estimate even with a really efficient assembly core you'd be looking at 8-16MHz 386 type performance though, you wouldn't be running quake on it, put it that way
     
  19. RaiDesu

    Member RaiDesu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Why not Windows CE? It's built to run off of ARM based processors.
     
  20. techforumz

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you would. Why would you want to run Quake under a win32 emu, under a DOS emu, under a x86 emu, under a 67MHz ARM9. Just run DSQuake instead.

    Correction: QuakeDS.
     

Share This Page