Win2DS *Unofficial* v0.8 Release

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Urza, Dec 11, 2007.

Dec 11, 2007

Win2DS *Unofficial* v0.8 Release by Urza at 6:07 AM (8,860 Views / 0 Likes) 51 replies

  1. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Win2DS *Unofficial* v0.8 Release
    Remote desktop on DS


    MonkeyNZ has released an unofficial update to the remote desktop application, Win2DS. For those not familiar, this lets you control your mouse, keyboard, and view your desktop from your DS. MonkeyNZ claims that in his release "both the client and server have been updated with new code to enhance the speed and quality of the service." Download and changelog below.

    [title:Changelog]client - updated code to compile with devkitpro r21 and dswifi 0.3.4
    client - optimised wifi code to greatly speed up throughput
    client - can move zoom screen with keyboard active
    keyboard - exit key now works correctly
    keyboard - lower screen updates disabled to enhance keyboard responsiveness
    server - mouse control now works perfectly with zoomed screen
    server/client - increased accuracy of touch screen aligning with mouse pointer
    server - changed scaling algorithm to halftone colors for much higher quality fullscreen image


    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. recover

    Member recover GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Sweden
    This app looks really cool! [​IMG]
     
  3. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Wow, this is awesome, I am using to to post now.
    I am running at 1600*1200, so there is lag, but that is to be expected, this app is win.
     
  4. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    does it work if you have wep encryption?

    edit: nvm, i kept putting my ds ip address as server
     
  5. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Can someone teach me how to use this? (button command)
    I'm very confuse.
     
  6. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    l=pgup
    r=pgdn
    left dpad= left click
    ricght dpad= right click
    up dpag = middle click
    down dpad=backspace

    xyab= move around
     
  7. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm, sounds kinda cool, can you use the internet browser within the program ie use firefox while accessing your pc with this program, also can you view whats in your folders too? like pictures, text files, mp3's and video files? can you run programs also?
     
  8. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Im going to play Counter Strike with this =D
     
  9. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    You can do everything because PC do it [​IMG]
    DS just take screenshot of the monitor.

    This version has a lot of improvement.
    clearer picture
    refeash rate

    but I see some thing wrong here...game pad mode, the screens dont turn off
     
  10. terminator99

    Member terminator99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Widnes,Cheshire.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    give me an example on how to set this up Please!
     
  11. guigr

    Newcomer guigr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    France
    Now just improve the refresh rate to 30FPS so I can play Gears of War on my DS! [​IMG]
     
  12. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    1.Run Win2DS.exe on the PC
    2.Run Win2DS.(for your cart)
    3.select auto detect (it should auto connect to AP)
    4.input IP of you PC
    5.Choose mode
    - virtual, control PC with screenshot on DS
    - gamepad DS will turn screens off (but I found a bug) and let you use DS as controller
    (similar to Virtual but no screenshot)

    custom key - select key you want
    disconnect
     
  13. Noobix

    Member Noobix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds really good...the idea of remoting my PC's whilst in bed would be heaven!!! (I'm a lazy b*****d! [​IMG] )

    Going out to the shops now, but will be rushing back to try this out!!! [​IMG]
     
  14. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL this is so cool then, might try this later on.
     
  15. moozxy

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This won't work for me :/ keeps saying Cannot connect after 'Acquiring DHCP'
     
  16. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
    me to,
    and once i did and then it just said waiting....
     
  17. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    make sure you have entered the right IP address (your PC's one)

    make sure the PC side program is running properly.

    make sure router settings allow DS homebrew.

    try that guys!
     
  18. Bamboo

    Member Bamboo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks,
    currently my pc connects to my router for internet.
    if i want to play a game online with my ds it connects to my router also.
    does this program connect directly to my pc or the router ?
    if it connects to my pc how do i do this ?

    are there any step by step instructions for this ?
     
  19. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    it goes from

    DS to Router to PC
    and vice versa
    PC to Router to DS

    if ur using windows XP, go Start menu -> Run -> type "cmd" -> tap ENTER
    command box pops up
    type in command box "ipconfig" then tap ENTER

    look for IP Address........... XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX

    use that IP address on ur DS
     
  20. slayerspud

    Member slayerspud GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    best homebrew on ds.
    Typing this using it. Though anyone know how to zoom in the bottom screen more easily, rather than using the top one?
     

Share This Page