Win XP Lan help

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Magsor, May 4, 2011.

May 4, 2011

Win XP Lan help by Magsor at 8:05 PM (770 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Magsor
    OP

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    I did not know what to put as a title because my problem is specific.

    I want to use a wireless lan connection while using my wired lan and cannot make it to work. Any clues on what i should do? Is it doable? Right now i have to unplug the wired connection for the wireless one to work. Thanks guys
     
  2. phoenix1234

    Newcomer phoenix1234 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have u chkd the website for the make of the router? they may have a firmware update. or u may need to alter somethin in the internal settings for the router, in which case u would need to log in as admin.

    i know with the router we have we had to install the wireless settins from the setup disc otherwise it just wouldnt work.
     
  3. Magsor
    OP

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe i was not clear enough. Sorry about that.

    I have 2 routers. One wired and one wireless and I want to use both simulteanously. I just want to know if theres a way to config xp or a software or sumtin
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    This is relatively easy. (for computers network, I don't know for routers, but it could help you).

    First you have to forgot that this is your computer which has an IP (like 192.168.0.1). It's not the computer but the network card which actually has an IP assigned to it.
    What you'll need to do is set all the IP manually.

    I'll detail the way to connect 1 PC to both 1 computer and 1 router.
    The connected computer will gain internet access through NAT.
    I concider the Router you use to access internet to have IP 192.168.0.1

    Consider your computer 2 (the one with the internet access) with 2 network adapters : an Ethernet card and a WiFi card.
    Each adapters must have their own network, they can't share it.

    Let's call your Wifi network the "network 0", and the LAN the "network 1".
    [PC1 | ethernet card ] ---- LAN ------ [ ethernet card | PC2 | wifi card ] ------ Wifi ----- [router] ---- Internet
    <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <b><!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <b><!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b>

    Each network adapter will have a number assigned on his own network.

    [PC1 | ethernet card ] ---- LAN ------ [ ethernet card | PC2 | wifi card ] ------ Wifi ----- [router] ---- Internet
    <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <b><!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <b><!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <b><!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/blank.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blank:" border="0" alt="blank.gif" /> <b><!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b>

    You made your visual network repartition and assigned number to both the network and the adapter on the network:
    PC 1 ethernet has <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->IP 2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> on <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->network 1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    PC 2 ethernet has <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->IP 1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> on <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->network 1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    PC 2 Wifi has <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->IP 2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> on <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->network 0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Router (wifi) has <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->IP 1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> on <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->network 0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->

    Now, you need to set the IP on your computer :

    • PC1:
    Start > settings > network adapter
    Right-click on the LAN adapter icon > preferences > in the list double-click on TCP/IP

    Manually set :
    IP : 192.168.<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->.<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <--- IP <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> of network <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    sub-Mask : 255.255.255.0 (just type that, if not automatically filled). It's purpose is to define the maximum IP per network. you don't need more than 256 different IP, so type that value.
    gateway : 192.168.<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->.<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <--- the gateway is the computer allowing access to internet, so you are telling to this PC to use PC2 as the gateway. (card <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->.<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> is on PC2)
    DNS : 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (this is the Google's DNS)

    • PC2:
    Start > settings > network adapter
    Right-click on the LAN adapter icon > preferences > in the list double-click on TCP/IP

    Manually set :
    IP : 192.168.<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->.<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <--- IP <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> of network <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    sub-Mask : 255.255.255.0
    gateway : empty <--- the PC1 doesn't need to access internet through PC2
    DNS : empty, same as above, no internet access needed through this connection.

    • PC2:
    Start > settings > network adapter
    Right-click on the WiFi adapter icon > preferences > in the list double-click on TCP/IP

    Manually set :
    IP : 192.168.<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->.<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <--- IP <!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->2<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> of network <!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    sub-Mask : 255.255.255.0
    gateway : 192.168.<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->0<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->.<!--coloro:#0000FF--><span style="color:#0000FF"><!--/coloro-->1<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <--- the gateway is the router's IP allowing access to internet, so you are telling to this PC to use Router as the gateway.
    DNS : 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (this is the Google's DNS)

    You need to tell the WiFi network card to share internet with the other network cards of the PC1 :
    • PC2:
    Start > settings > network adapter
    Right-click on the WiFi adapter icon > preferences > Advanced tab > select the Ethernet network in the drop down list, and check "Allow other users from this network card to access internet from this computer"
    (you may need to be disconnected to do the ICS - Internet Connection Sharing)
    Done <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />

    • Router:
    if you need to change the router's IP, connect to the router through your internet browser
    <a href="http://192.168.0.1" target="_blank">http://192.168.0.1</a>, and go to it's IP setting.



    Now, what I understand, is that you want to use 2 internet routers, both are connected to a different internet provider/account ?
    I don't know if this is possible to share 2 internet connexion at the same time (for example to download quicker), but it should work.
    Back on Windows 95, it was possible to use 2 modem 56k to make the download faster.

    If you understood how network and network adapter are set, you should be able to create your 2 different network (1 for each router).
    But it's only IF your 2 router don't share the same fixed IP.
    Sometime, routers are set to "192.168.1.1" and can't be changed.
    Other routers let you set the router's IP manually, so you can just choose a different "network" number for both routers.
     
  5. Magsor
    OP

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Cyan you amaze me like always...
    I figured it out. I had to read and reread your post. YOU ARE AWESOME I HOPE YOUR WIFE TELLS YOU EVERYDAY!

    The answer was a lot simpler than that actually. (than again i would not have figured it out without you)

    All i had to do it tell the wired network adapter to use WIFI router's IP as a gateway. and now im rolling!

    Network 0's internet connection is unlimited so PC2 is setup as a download machine while the rest of the network (network 1)is using another connection that is 3 times faster but has a limit on download(great for playing online games !!!!!). PC2 dumps its files on a server (wired) and everyone can watch them movies without using up bandwith...
     
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I'm happy you found it useful [​IMG]

    I tried to make graphics-like explanations with server and adapter's color code, sorry I didn't took the time to make real pictures [​IMG]


    PS : I'm single [​IMG] ... it looks like too many awesomeness makes people repulsive (oh, it's what we call a geek, girls aren't interested [​IMG])
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Girls are intimidated when a guy is a lot smarter than they are, but there are many girls that are starting to find geek culture more attractive. Finding them is the hard part.
     

Share This Page