Hacking Wiikwy fusion - autoboot

actar

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
371
Trophies
0
Location
Torino (Italy)
XP
214
Country
Italy
Hallo!
Would you be very kind to give me some information about WiiKey Fusion?

Introduction: my wii works fine (I haven't any brick =P )

I buy a WiiKey Fusion (just for my curiosity) and i Install it: it works great but I'm not able to use autoboot (in chip faeatures)... o__O

I set AUTOBOOT to ON but:
Trying origianls or backup Wii Game disc at startup, on system menù..but them don't starts.
(If I use the disc channel work and I can play without any problem on gamecube and wii backups)

Other information
1) I have priiloader installed: can this annoying to the chip?
2) I try to use disc autobootable (like bootmii autoboot disc) and it works correctly (it works both autoboot on chip on ON and OFF)
3) I just updated fw chip to 1.5

When autoboot features works?
I've done something wrong?

THANKS!
 
  • Like
Reactions: mauifrog

snikerz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
502
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
451
Country
Lesotho
The Wiikey Fusion Firmware is pretty bad. I don't think the autoboot feature has ever worked. Also, the Wiikey Team doesn't really care about their products at all, so I wouldn't be excited for another update to the chip.
 

Anon10W1z

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,112
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere over the rainbow
XP
174
Country
United States
The autoboot bit in the disc kicks into action because of your modchip. However, the FEATURE is broken, which is supposed to (when working) disregard the bit and just tell the SM to autoboot the disc.

Sorry if I'm confusing you.
 

actar

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
371
Trophies
0
Location
Torino (Italy)
XP
214
Country
Italy
Ok, thanks.

I leave to be able to use autoboot chip faetures.

But i make some experiment using autoboot_iso (always with chip_autoboot to OFF):
1) use a bootmii_autoboot disc at startup or in recovery mode -> it works
2) I make the same iso in wbfs format (bootmii_autoboot) and I put it in wiikey fusion SD slot and try without any disc inserted -> bootmii load at startup or in recovery mode (it works)
3) Then I take one of my game in ISO format (full_iso, not scrubbed), i patched it with Wii_ISO_Autoboot_Patcher using autoboot mode, and I burn it -> the game starts at startup or in recovery mode (it works)
4) I take the same iso patched, i erase the bootmii_autoboot that I put before, then I write the image in the SD with wbfs manager. This time it doesn't works.

Then.. form dvd all works great.. but...
Why in autoboot, bootmii start via SD but the game (via SD) not? I wrong something patching it?



ps: if mod can fix the title of the topic, they will made me a pleasure. =P
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
Hey actar, did you ever find a way to boot game from RM via the wiikey fusion? Someone is trying this to load lego indiana to run exploit from RM, but so far only 4.3e fades to black screen. Is there any trick to loading iso via sd from RM with this chip?
 

actar

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
371
Trophies
0
Location
Torino (Italy)
XP
214
Country
Italy
Directly from recovery MODE not unfortunately NOT. =(

But I see this:
if I use a patched game in auto-boot (writing it in SD) and I start it form WiiKey menu starting the Wii normally, the game start without ant problem.
Once time started.. the game will start at each Wii restart.

This can be without using any DVD (backup or original) or other.

The problem is obviously that you must start it first time form WiiKey Menu.
And I haven't receive any answer about that form WiiKey Team about this issue.
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
So if title id has never been loaded from wiikey menu, it will not start from RM. That is not going to be very good. Thank you.

What about loading from dvd? Does it load dvd from RM as it should, or are there issue there also?

Also, what about loading an autoboot title id from another wii, from the system menu via wiikey menu. If you moved the chip to a bricked wii, do you think it would load the autoboot title id from RM, via sd?
 

actar

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
371
Trophies
0
Location
Torino (Italy)
XP
214
Country
Italy
From DVD work without problem, but always and only patching to auto-boot the game.

Auto-boot chip feature really seems not working.

I just thought to try to "move" the chip in a bricked Wii after started a game form SD on a working Wii..
..but I never found the desire and the time to do it. ^_^
But I don't thinks that can work, but that's just my guess.
 
  • Like
Reactions: genericasianguy

genericasianguy

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
37
Country
United States
Sorry for bumping a 4 year old thread but:

Ok, thanks.

I leave to be able to use autoboot chip faetures.

But i make some experiment using autoboot_iso (always with chip_autoboot to OFF):
1) use a bootmii_autoboot disc at startup or in recovery mode -> it works
2)
I make the same iso in wbfs format (bootmii_autoboot) and I put it in wiikey fusion SD slot and try without any disc inserted -> bootmii load at startup or in recovery mode (it works)
3)
Then I take one of my game in ISO format (full_iso, not scrubbed), i patched it with Wii_ISO_Autoboot_Patcher using autoboot mode, and I burn it -> the game starts at startup or in recovery mode (it works)
4) I take the same iso patched, i erase the bootmii_autoboot that I put before, then I write the image in the SD with wbfs manager. This time it doesn't works.P

This is very useful information, thank you @actar. I'm hoping to try out MarioKart-PWNS to repair my 003 bricked Wii.

So if title id has never been loaded from wiikey menu, it will not start from RM. That is not going to be very good. Thank you.

What about loading from dvd? Does it load dvd from RM as it should, or are there issue there also?

Also, what about loading an autoboot title id from another wii, from the system menu via wiikey menu. If you moved the chip to a bricked wii, do you think it would load the autoboot title id from RM, via sd?

I should be getting a Wiikey Fusion in the mail within a week, so I'll see if I can test it out (putting the Wiikey in a working Wii, boot a WBFS game from the SD, put the Wiikey in the bricked Wii with the same SD to see if it autoboots).
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    C @ CommanderCool: Any good places mirroring Sea of Harkinian lately besides their shitty discord?