Wiikey fusion or Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by KMFDMlv, Nov 20, 2010.

Nov 20, 2010

Wiikey fusion or Softmod by KMFDMlv at 7:44 AM (1,739 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. KMFDMlv
    OP

    Newcomer KMFDMlv Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Laos
    Sorry for the newbie question, though I would like to know whether it currently would be better to install a wiikey fusion modchip or to simply try and softmod the wii and keep the modchip as a reserve?
    Thank you
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    What's your objective? Playing Wii backup? Gamecube backup? Emulation? Multimedia? Homebrew?

    I recommend Softmod for most part except Gamecube backup. For Gamecube backup I recommend WODE. I understand that DIOS-MIOS is released already but WODE is better at the moment.
     
  3. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Sotfmod, or softmod + wode. Softmod will do everything for you except load gc game from use, which should be working within the year or sooner (maybe, hopeful, fingers crossed).
     
  4. KMFDMlv
    OP

    Newcomer KMFDMlv Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Laos
    Thank you for the fast reply.
    I'm currently interested in playing my Wii backups (the Wii is for a little kid).
    Will I be able to restore the Wii to a factory setting and install the modchip later if the need arises?
    Or can it be done vice -versa? Install modchip and later simply take it out and softmod the wii?
     
  5. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Softmod

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Hardmod
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    EDIT: The softmod shouldn't effect your modchip
     
  6. KMFDMlv
    OP

    Newcomer KMFDMlv Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Laos
    Hmm, thanks.
    Is it possible to softmod the wii (4.3e so with indiana pwns) with a backup through the wiikey?
     
  7. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, backups done through a mod chip will work fine.
     

Share This Page