1. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    United States
    is there way to update the Wiitdb.txt to organize the ABC in order?
     
  2. rainbowbattlekid

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    so I recently installed wiiflow, got nes, snes, gc, and wii games working fine.

    only issue is, i can't seem to change the coverflow. i set a different one for snes in the souce menu.ini file with "emuflow=2" or whatever, but it doesn't do anything. also when i go to "adjust coverflow" in wiiflow's settings, it only lets me cycle through 6 but i think there were way more when i initially started it? i downloaded the default and platform ini files someone posted in here but that doesn't seem to have made a difference. any ideas?
     
    Danimalzpwn3 likes this.
  3. Danimalzpwn3

    Danimalzpwn3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you are on wiiflow beta 13 or higher. Some platform.ini do not work with other versions. Also you cannot make custom sourceflow in the config. In the Wiiflow main menu, You can go to sourceflow, then edit, and you can edit exactly to your liking each aspect of cover flow. If some CoverFlow change others, then make sure to press second top left button which gives you more sourceflow options for that specific sourceflow, and you can edit it to your liking. Make sure to lock in the sourceflow so it stays. Some source flows for ex, Gameboy and Gameboy color will have the same exact sourcefloec so if you change it, both will change. But by pressing the second button from the top left, it takes you to another sourceflow in the gb_cart sources so if you edit let’s say gb_cart_2 then the first one will not be change, only all the ones you set to this option.
     
  4. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Italy
    @Danimalzpwn3 don't confuse sourceflow with coverflow. They're not the same thing. Sourceflow is source menu. Through the source menu you access the various coverflows (game cover boxes)

    @rainbowbattlekid are you using a particular theme or are you on the default one? Each theme has a coverflows folder with a file that contains all of them and they can be very different from the default ones. Super nes is using the ones named snes_cart (this is defined in Platform.ini).
     
    Danimalzpwn3 likes this.
  5. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    United States
    Hello? Hello? people ingoring my Questins i asked is there to update wiitdb or gctdb to organize my wii and gamecube in order also im on 5.0 wiiflow lite
     
  6. rainbowbattlekid

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States

    just the default one. i'm on wiiflow lite
     
  7. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Italy
    @rainbowbattlekid Ok, the default theme has 6 types of coverflows for snes. So when you access the SNES coverflow on the wii you should see horizontal game boxes. If you press the 1 or 2 buttons on the wiimote you will cycle through all of them. Choose the one you like and simply go back, it will remain saved. If pressing 1 or 2 has no effects for you, it's because your coverflows are locked. To unlock them go to settings, find the 'Lock coverflow layouts' option and turn it off.
    If none of the 6 snes coverflows meet your tastes, go to the snes coverflow, click the Settings button, then Adjust coverflow. Then click the top-left button on the screen until you reach the coverflow number you wish to edit.
    You can also have more than 6 coverflows for Snes. If that's what you want I can tell you how to do it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ok first thing, you should update Wiiflow Light to the latest version. 5.0 is reeeeeally outated.
    Second thing, I really can't understand what your problem is. Are your games not sorted alphabetically?
    However you can download the GameTDB going to Settings -> Downloads.
     
    fledge68 likes this.
  8. rainbowbattlekid

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    OMG this was it, thank you so much. I haven't gone back to see if it was saved but i didn't even know you could cycle through them like that. It's also the X and Y buttons on the classic controller fwiw.
     
    fledge68 and Tetsuo Shima like this.
  9. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Italy
    For a comprehensive list of controls, go to the Home menu (pressing Home in coverflow view) and click on the Help button
     
  10. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    United States
    some of my games arent sorted alphabetically and it is named by title code like it showing [awegbe] also im able to download from gametdb banners and covers so what im saying i think it is missing is WiiTDB.xml or is there to renaming the Gamecubes games
     
  11. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Italy
    @FanNintendo wiitdb.xml is going to wiiflow/settings/
    I never had to update it, though. If you have it there I don't know why it isn't working for you, maybe it's just outdated. Did you update wiiflow to the latest version?

    To sort games you can press the + button while holding B. You can keep pressing + to sort them in various ways.
     
  12. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    United States
    trying that now or will update the wiiflow

    Look like im missing wiitdb.xml in wiiflow/settings/

    Thank you for fix my solution i never knew about hold b and press + and the issue was no wiitdb.xml ok i have 1 more question how can u make disc 1 and disc 2 into 1 i dont want to see duplicates like seeing double same covers for disc 1 and disc 2?
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  13. ravynsage

    ravynsage Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So thank to this forum I got most everything working in Wii Flow current version. Question - I tried to modify the existing default coverflow to simply add a new flow for N64. I cloned _coverflow_15 and renamed it _coverflow_16 in default.ini and expected it to show up in the GUI configuration screen, but it only cycles to coverflow 15 and then back to 1? I could not find a max or limit, so not sure what is controlling this?

    Thank you!
    Mark
     
  14. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Italy
    Glad you fixed your issue. For your last question I'm sorry, I don't know how to do it.
    @ravynsage Find this line in your default.ini (or theme ini if you're using a theme)
    [_COVERFLOW]
    number_of_modes=

    and set it to 16
     
  15. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    United States
    unfortunately there is a limit of 15. so pick one of the 15 you don't like and replace it with your number 16. be sure to renumber it.
     
    Tetsuo Shima likes this.
  16. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Italy
    Oh, sorry I wasn't aware of this
     
    fledge68 likes this.
  17. templar701

    templar701 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Hey guys,
    Recent info on USB microphone compatibility with Wiiflow lite seems a bit sparse, so I’m about to test different cIOS, USB port combinations and several compatible games, to see which setups are best. Initially I was messing around and noticed that compatibility of the mic, either being detected or not, can be a bit mixed. FYI I'm currently using an original wii, cIOS 249 base 56 v10 beta52 - cIOS 250 base 57 v10 beta52 and SD only setup.

    @fledge68 I was curious about the mount sd only option in wiifow start up. I remember reading that turning it ON gets a slightly quicker wiiflow boot as no need to wait for USB HD to initialise. Turning it on for SD card only users then seems like a sensible option, but doing this did effect whether the USB mic was detected. I just wandered if effecting USB peripherals was an intended consequence of this option and what it was doing to the USB ports? I need to test it a bit more really because the effect may be different under different cIOS conditions.

    Speaking of which, I was looking at the game IOS launch setting VS force cIOS revision in Wiiflow start up. Just wanted to confirm what the main differences were here? I’m guessing force cIOS revision launches wiiflow under the selected cIOS while game IOS then launches the game under selected IOS, which seems self explanatory.

    Hopefully this will help my understanding better while I test. Thanks
     
  18. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    United States
    Sd only does not mount any usb devices and only pertains to wiiflow. When a game is launched its the game cios that handles usb devices.

    You are right about game ios and force cios.
     
    templar701 likes this.
  19. templar701

    templar701 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Thanks fledge68, this makes sense. I read that the USB microphone devices need to be plugged in and remain so from powering on, in order to be recognised by whatever software. I'm lacking knowledge with the way wii handles it's USB ports, and I could be off base, but I wonder if wiiflow not mounting USB ports under certain settings has the same effect of unplugging the device, and so unusable by the time the game loads even under the correct cIOS. I'll do some more testing.

    I forgot to ask about the start up setting "USB port=[0, 1]".
    Is it right that this setting has no effect on anything if "mount sd only=YES" ?
    However, if "mount sd only=NO", will both USB ports be active and mountable or will it only be the port set by "USB port setting", and the other port unmounted and inactive?
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  20. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,747
    Country:
    United States
    wiiflow unmounts usb devices even if not using sd only. whenever it switches IOS or cIOS and every time it shuts down to launch a game all devices are umounted (usb and sd). i can't remember which one but one of the new d2x cios is plug n play. meaning it allows you to plug usb devices in whenever. that's probably the d2x cios you need to use for microphone games.

    the port setting does not matter if using sd only.
     
    templar701 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - WiiFlow,