Wii Storage Problem

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Awdofgum, Jul 24, 2008.

Jul 24, 2008

Wii Storage Problem by Awdofgum at 4:56 AM (3,393 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. Awdofgum
    OP

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    Finally Nintendo is realizing that there is very limited storage on the wii.

    I've already run out of room and I've had to delete some of my VC titles just to get new ones. I really hope a solution is being developed soon.



    Wii Storage Problem - Kotaku
     


  2. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't surprise me. It's smaller than the original CD-ROM standard, not that a lot of people here are old enough to remember when that was invented.
     
  3. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Well, at least they're showing concern now.
     
  4. Eternal Myst

    Member Eternal Myst Back from the Myst.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    I have a bomb alallalallala
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet.Now I can store more pirated titles...hopefully.
     
  5. SkankyYankee

    Member SkankyYankee GBAtemp Advanced Skank

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    Country:
    United States
    I ran out with buying legit games, the n64 and wiiware games add up.

    Already had to store games on my PC to make room.
     
  6. Awdofgum
    OP

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    No, I'm no wii pirate, I don't like to mess around modding my console, I'm very paranoid about that.

    I'm not going to get my hopes up, Nintendo is probably going to come up with something so they can avoid the wiiharddrive option.
     
  7. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Drones kept defending Nintendo's original design, but it turns out some people actually do need the space.
     
  8. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    *gasp* Wii hard drive blasphemy j/k i'm glad that they're finally doing something about it. (my wii is so jam packed with vc and wii ware I can't even save brawl snapshots anymore)
     
  9. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ummm.... SD cards? The whole switching of files doesnt actually bother me at all.
     
  10. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    The SD card transfer rate on Wii is abysmal. Slower than PSP's cards even, IIRC.
     
  11. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    Well the transfers are a pain to everyone else. Not to mention if the don't get this problem fixed soon the uber-casual crowd aren't going to know what to do....yes they can be that dumb at times.
     
  12. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just release a firmware update that let we play games directly from the SD card.. a 2GB card is pretty cheap and should be enough for most people.
     
  13. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    'Tis confusing. They are working on a solution but are not going down the route of Hard Drives.

    I'm guessing their solution will be crap.
     
  14. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    Okay: a Wii hard drive. Now, where the fuck is it going to go. There's likely no room in the system at all; leaving it out of the shell just leads to the Wii looking more like shit.

    SD support seems the most likely.
     
  15. Elfish

    Member Elfish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Germany
    maybe they're adding some sort of ssd flash memory [​IMG]
     
  16. DarkSzero

    Newcomer DarkSzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Something using the SD or the USB. Or they could be crazy and use GC Memory Cards.
    And what I said it just the obvious, bleh.
     
  17. Pici

    Member Pici GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    France
    I bet they will release a high-priced usb-device made especially for the wii
     
  18. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    Wii Model 2: Extra Piracy Edition of course!
     
  19. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    if they even plan on using a hard drive it would probably be a mini hdd cuz they don't need a power supply
     
  20. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    It might be powered by the same port that powers the sensor bar.

    idk if that port supplies excess power to it.

    I'm sensing some Nintendo-branded thing that takes an existing medium (HDD) and modifies it just slightly so it doesn't work with computers. (Ex: GCN Memory card is a modified SD card)
     

Share This Page