Tutorial  Updated

Wii on Wii U Virtual Console: Injecting Games

Requirements:
WiiScrubber v1.40;
nfs2iso2nfs v0.5.4; it may require the Wii common Key. You can use wiiscrubber's key.bin renamed to wii_common_key.bin.
A clean rip of your Wii game;
The extracted contents of a Wii VC title for the Wii U (except the .nfs files);
-the 2 below require java to be installed-
jnustool (requires Wii U common key so you'll have to search online - hint: it begins with D7B0. Open the "config" file in notepad and paste the key inside, replacing [COMMONKEY]);
NUSpacker (must be @ihaveamac's version, requires Wii U common key as well)

Current limitations:
It's possible to use the gamepad to emulate ONLY the Classic Controller.
Wii Remote emulation is possible but there's no gyroscope or infrared commands (at least for now).
(Input emulation patches by @FIX94)

The game must be already compatible with the Classic Controller but that isn't a guarantee that it's going to work.
Here's a compatibility list: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/WiiU_VC_Wii_inject_compatibility_list

Integrity checks are still in place so only clean disc rips work.
The game iso must be pristine: untrimmed, unscrubbed and the partitions signed.
No homebrew, no mods, no wimmfi patched games until sigpatches are implemented.

Patched isos work now! Original idea by @Tock46!

Homebrew works now, even a special version of Nintendont by @FIX94

Trimmed isos still don't work, at least not isos trimmed by WiiScrubber.



HOW TO DO IT


0. Downloading a Wii VC Title
This may be illegal and I'm just telling you so you don't ever do it by mistake OK?
You can use the command line to download games' contents directly if you know the title id and title key.
I heard you can get them on a certain titlekeys site...

Once you have that, this is the command
Code:
java -jar JNUSTool.jar TITLEID TITLEKEY

NmNYbOu.png


Note: You should get a game that contains the latest revision of fw.img (r590), that's the only version supported by @FIX94's patches.
Here's some info you can use to verify that you have a good file:
Size: 1785497 bytes.
CRC32: E2F27E9B
MD5: 3CAF52A9A440EEE4F125A3AD22E305C8
SHA: A5A75EBF3164874830A1D5992495DE510AB3F74E

Now here's a list of some titles that contain the preferred fw.img (verified mostly by @fejich and @markehmus)
DONKEY KONG JUNGLE BEAT [VBXE01]
Kirby's Epic Yarn [VARE01]
Lost in Shadow [VA8E01]
Mario Strikers Charged [VBFE01]
Mario Super Sluggers [VBHE01]
Pandora's Tower [VAPE01]
PIKMIN 2 [VBTE01]
PIKMIN [VBUE01]
Resident Evil 4 Wii Edition [VBDE01]
Resident Evil The Umbrella Chronicles [VBWE01]
Rhythm Heaven Fever [VAKE01]
Sin and Punishment Star Successor [VALE01]
Super Mario Galaxy [VBKJ01]
Super Paper Mario [VBBE01]
The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword [VANE01]
Trauma Team [VA6E01]
Wario Land Shake It [VBGE01]
WARIO WARE SMOOTH MOVES [VBVE01]





-----------------------------------------------

1. WiiScrubber
First setup WiiScrubber. Remember it needs the Wii common keys so run MakeKeyBin.exe first and do as it says.
Run it and open you iso. Right-click the UPDATE partition and select "Delete partition". Confirm.
uE02Phr.png


Now click on the + box to expand the DATA partition, then expand partition.bin.
Right click tmd.bin, select "Extract" and save it.
Do the same with ticket.bin.
jJPl3Wy.png


Rename the extracted ticket.bin to rvlt.tik
Rename the extracted tmd.bin to rvlt.tmd

Copy/move both files to the "code" folder of the Wii VC title.

Your iso is now ready and you can close WiiScrubber.


2. nfs2iso2nfs
Move your iso to the "content" folder of the Wii VC. Rename the file to "game.iso".
The content folder should contain only game.iso and the "assets" folder. Delete any nfs files that are still present.

Copy nfs2iso2nfs.exe to the content folder and run it. If everything is in place, it will begin the conversion process.
It should take around 15 minutes. Its console window will close when it's finished.
Once it ends you can delete your iso file and nfs2iso2nfs.exe (and wii_common_key.bin if it exists).
The content folder should contain only the nfs files and the "assets" folder.

Optional: You can enable Classic Controller emulation for playing using only the gamepad.
Open meta.xml (it's in the meta folder) in notepad.
Look for the line
Code:
<drc_use type="unsignedInt" length="4">1</drc_use>

replace it with
Code:
<drc_use type="unsignedInt" length="4">65537</drc_use>
and save the file.
Note that this will only work if the game supports the Classic Controller.
If it doesn't either it won't boot or you won't be able to do anything and only the gamepad's power button will work.
Here's a list of such games: https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/List_of_Wii_games_compatible_with_Classic_Controller


3.NUSpacker
The final part, building the installation files.
NUSpacker requires the Wii U common key. You should find it online and then open the file "encryptKeyWith" with
notepad and paste the key inside (hint: it begins with D7B0)

It's also a command line tool so you'll have to write down the commands, or simply create a new text file,
write the command inside, save it and change the extension from .txt to .bat

I recommend copying the Wii VC folder (that contains the other 3 folders, code, content and meta) to nuspacker's folder.
That will make everything easier.

The command works like this (replace with the names of your own folders)
If you folders have spaces in their names, enclose them in quotation marks, like "Just Dance".
Code:
java -jar nuspacker.jar -in GAME_FOLDER -out INSTALATION_FILES_FOLDER

Wiait until it finishes the process.
Now just copy the folder with the installation data to the "install" folder SD card, run a CFW and install it with WUP Installer GX2!

PS: If you make a nonfunctional game, remember to uninstall it before trying again.
If you install a fiunctional game over a broken installation, it will still appear as broken.
 

Attachments

  • WiiScrubber [V-1.40 A-2009].rar
    528.8 KB · Views: 1,377
  • NUSpacker.zip
    59.6 KB · Views: 1,335
  • jnustool.zip
    99.6 KB · Views: 1,420
  • nfs2iso2nfs v0.5.4.zip
    11.3 KB · Views: 869
Last edited by piratesephiroth, , Reason: updated nfs2nfs2iso

GR-DRACULA

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2015
Messages
281
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
crete
XP
526
Country
Greece
That's because Fix94 is working on fixing the launch issue on Wii/vWii, so "latest" is always a new, different version than the previous "latest" version from 10 minutes ago.
please, use revision number instead of "latest" :P
i think the revision i am is 5.455 lol 10 minutes ago? i will update it again xD
 
Last edited by GR-DRACULA,

victormr21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
565
Trophies
0
XP
498
Country
Nintendont doesn't work for me. It doesn't show the games and if I press A it gives me this DSI error
 

Attachments

  • 1505751922764-1272686415.jpg
    1505751922764-1272686415.jpg
    498.7 KB · Views: 206

YellowHoneyBear

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
75
Country
United States
Someone help me please. I can't access Nintendont at all.

So when i go on the Nintendont forwarder, i get to the Nintendont menu for just a second and the screen goes black, and on the black screen it shows a tiny dot and dash line right under it in upper left corner of the screen. Than i tried launching Nintendont from the homebrew channel on Wii Mode, it does indeed not show a black screen, but this time it's stuck on the "initializing Nintendont" screen. I don't know what's wrong, i don't think its my SD Card since i can't even boot in to Nintendont. Also keep in mind i've used Nintendont on my Wii U normally before,, and it ran just fine and played games perfectly fine, i don't know what's going on here. Any help would be helpful, been doing this for hours now.
 

Kleyon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2017
Messages
287
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
223
Country
France
Someone help me please. I can't access Nintendont at all.

So when i go on the Nintendont forwarder, i get to the Nintendont menu for just a second and the screen goes black, and on the black screen it shows a tiny dot and dash line right under it in upper left corner of the screen. Than i tried launching Nintendont from the homebrew channel on Wii Mode, it does indeed not show a black screen, but this time it's stuck on the "initializing Nintendont" screen. I don't know what's wrong, i don't think its my SD Card since i can't even boot in to Nintendont. Also keep in mind i've used Nintendont on my Wii U normally before,, and it ran just fine and played games perfectly fine, i don't know what's going on here. Any help would be helpful, been doing this for hours now.

Had this too... Using WiiVC forwarder, seems like a random error. I tried to reproduce it today and can't success. Try power off and power on WiiU again then launch Nintendont. If you are having same issue, please try to provide images for FIX94!
 

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,787
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,296
Country
United States
Someone help me please. I can't access Nintendont at all.

So when i go on the Nintendont forwarder, i get to the Nintendont menu for just a second and the screen goes black, and on the black screen it shows a tiny dot and dash line right under it in upper left corner of the screen. Than i tried launching Nintendont from the homebrew channel on Wii Mode, it does indeed not show a black screen, but this time it's stuck on the "initializing Nintendont" screen. I don't know what's wrong, i don't think its my SD Card since i can't even boot in to Nintendont. Also keep in mind i've used Nintendont on my Wii U normally before,, and it ran just fine and played games perfectly fine, i don't know what's going on here. Any help would be helpful, been doing this for hours now.
You have to be more specific, how do you boot into cfw? Do you use Haxchi, or CBHC? Where is your nintendont folder on sd, in apps/nintendont/boot.dol Are you using ploggy's forwarder, or the channel with the dol built in
 

YellowHoneyBear

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
75
Country
United States
You have to be more specific, how do you boot into cfw? Do you use Haxchi, or CBHC? Where is your nintendont folder on sd, in apps/nintendont/boot.dol Are you using ploggy's forwarder, or the channel with the dol built in

I'm using Haxchi with Mocha CFW to boot in to CFW. And i'm actually not sure what forwarder i'm using, i didn't know there was more than one. I got it from here.



Video to where i got it from

Link that was in description of that video

http://bit.ly/2x5UsfO
 

Kleyon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2017
Messages
287
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
223
Country
France
Considering icon, seems like it is ploggy's forwarder (without bootsound: not the latest one). But I had exactly same issue using CBHC and ploggy/Hikari06 forwarders...

Edit: So I don't think that it is linked to forwarder nor CFW. I think only Nintendont itself is concerned. Glad other users are starting to experience the same bug to be able to maybe fix it.
 
Last edited by Kleyon,

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,787
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,296
Country
United States
I'm using Haxchi with Mocha CFW to boot in to CFW. And i'm actually not sure what forwarder i'm using, i didn't know there was more than one. I got it from here.



Video to where i got it from

Link that was in description of that video

http://bit.ly/2x5UsfO

You don't need to boot mocha through haxchi, haxchi is cfw, tell haxchi to boot sysmenu and try it, also on wiiuusbhelper they have a nintendont channel you could try
 

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,787
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,296
Country
United States
Considering icon, seems like it is ploggy's forwarder (without bootsound: not the latest one). But I had exactly same issue using CBHC and ploggy/Hikari06 forwarders...

Edit: So I don't think that it is linked to forwarder nor CFW. I think only Nintendont itself is concerned. Glad other users are starting to experience the same bug to be able to maybe fix it.
Did you install the forwarder over the top of a old version? if so i would suggest to un install it an re install

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

There's two on there, one says forwarder, i assume i should get that?
yes
 

Kleyon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2017
Messages
287
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
223
Country
France
Did you install the forwarder over the top of a old version? if so i would suggest to un install it an re install

Now that one person is trying to get interest on it (I already made maybe 3 messages that didn't interest anyone)... Here is more details:

First time I had that issue was on my very first try to new Nintendont using Hikari06's Channel version (not forwarder). I first thought it was linked to that version, so I uninstalled it and installed ploggy's forwarder instead. First time it just worked fine then later I had same issue. Because my preference is going to Hikari06 concerning launch customization, I decided to uninstall ploggy's forwarder and install Hikari06's forwarder instead.

Last night I was experiencing same issue using Hikari06's forwarder and this morning I launched it 3 times on a row without any bug (always having correct Nintendont interface).

I have a 8Gb WiiU using Haxchi v2.5u2 and CBHC v1.6, no vWii hack, and like you can see I tried and experienced this on every possibility. Hope it will help...

Edit: So I never installed one over another one. And thanks for your interest!
 
Last edited by Kleyon,

richufc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
75
Trophies
1
XP
555
Country
Loving the Nintendont launcher with Gamepad controls! I used the youtube vid posted above as a guide and all works well.

One thing I have noticed is that on Super Monkey Ball (euro version) the Gamepad calibration seems to be slightly off in that the Monkey always rolls very slightly to the left. Don't think its my gamepad as have recalibrated etc numerous times. Has anyone else noticed this or is it just me?

Anyway, thanks v much Fix for all your hard work.

Cheers
Rich
 

alhrad

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
93
XP
165
Country
So you're talking about GameCube games... and this Nintendont version can't launch GameCube games from USB only SD card.

Yes indeed, that's where I recognize that error message from. My point being the error might be related to USB somehow.
 

wicksand420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
2,787
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,296
Country
United States
I wonder if this has to do with the white WiiU's i have the 32gb one and haven't had a problem yet except for sonic mega collection crashing randomly, but that is a Nintendont problem,
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan
    I rather enjoy a life of taking it easy. I haven't reached that life yet though.
  • AncientBoi
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: