Wii - Monster Hunter Tri - Working Guide!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Lone-Wolf, May 1, 2010.

May 1, 2010
  1. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey Guys this is my First Guide on how to Get Monster Hunter Tri Working on a SOFTMODDED Wii if any of you are Stuck [​IMG]

    --------------------------------------------GUIDE------------------------------------------------------------------

    Here is a Brief Guide for any of you Wanting/Needing Help getting it to work or are Stuck at the the Black Screen with the "NNNNNNNNNNNAAAAAAAAAAAAA....." Sound after Clicking "Begin Game" on the Main menu [​IMG]
    [*]Make Sure your Wii is Softmodded.[*]Download "cIOSX rev19 by waninkoko" ------------------> Link: cIOSX rev19 by waninkoko[*]Copy the "cIOSXrev19-Installer" folder to the "Apps" folder on your SD Card[*]Make sure you have a Wi-Fi Connection AND DISCONNECT ANY GAMECUBE CONTROLLERS OR MEMORY CARDS! Then Open HBC and Launch "cIOSX Rev19..."[*]Choose "249" as the IOS[*]When asked for the "Base IOS" choose "IOS 37-v3869.wad"[*]Select "Network Install"[*]Download "Neogamma R9" ------------------> Link: NeoGamma R9[*]Launch "Monster Hunter Tri"[*]ENJOY!Note: Offline steps: Download IOS37-64-v3869.wad using NUS Downloader and place it in the SD card root. Then choose "Wad Install" instead of "Network Install"[/p]

    This Worked Perfect for me and am Playing it Now [​IMG] (FINALLY!) Not Sure if this will work on 4.2 as I have 3.2E, Sorry [​IMG]

    I have found using this way has allowed my Metroid Prime Trilogy to Work Perfect too [​IMG]

    One More thing Once this is installed (IOS-37....) you won't be able to use WAD Manager unless you re-install cIOSX Rev 19 and as the Base choose IOS-38 as WAD Manager uses IOS 38 as the base, Sorry [​IMG]
    Untrue, the newest Wad manager & YAWMM will work with base 37 too - TJ

    EDIT!: Corrected Some Steps in the Guide from Comments Below, Thanks Guys [​IMG]
    EDIT 2!: Added Additional Info
    EDIT 3!: Added Important Info from "DarkWay"
    EDIT 4!: Added "One More Thing"
     


  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    You missed a step: The .dol for the cIOS installer needs to be renamed to boot.dol, after that the whole folder can be copied to the Apps folder.
     
  3. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    id also mention that you must have online wii connectivity for this to work or tell them how to install the base IOS offline, download and install that is
     
  4. wishmasterf

    Member wishmasterf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Good and Simple TUT.
    Thanks!

    But i cant use Neogamma because it cant read my wbfs on 3rd Partition. So i tried with usbloadergx an had no success. i tried different settings. I always used ciosx rev19 with ios 37 base ....
     
  5. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try Configurable USB Loader

    I basically did the same as this guide a week ago and it work fine, if your using the NTSC version make sure to set the TV to NTSC in the game options on the loader, if your using the PAL version leave it as default.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Having said that now that I've got Monster Hunter Tri both of my other 2 games have stopped working and give the same error (only difference being the ID of the game)

    The error I get is:-

    Error: setting up fragments 0 1
    ID mismatch: [RMCP01] []
    ERROR: SetWBFS: -1


    This happens on both of my other 2 games (which are Mario Kart Wii and Rune Factory Frontier) both of which worked before I did this.

    EDIT:-

    Could anyone check if these 2 games work for them? (both are PAL versions and they worked before)

    EDIT2:-
    also forgot to mention if your following this guide the OP forgot to mention that you MUST disconnect all gamecube controllers and memory cards from the Wii before you start
     
  6. wishmasterf

    Member wishmasterf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Thanks for your fast reply. i also tried cfgusbloader but same result as usbloadergx. could you tell me your settings in cfgusbloader?
     
  7. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and also what exactly is the problem your having?
    is it that the loaders aren't able to find your WBFS partition?

    are you using the PAL version or the NTSC version of Monster Hunter?
     
  8. wishmasterf

    Member wishmasterf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    i use NTSC-Version with PAL-Wii. If i start the game with hermes cios 222 (sorry i dont know the base ios :-( ) i get the NAAAAAA sound... If i try to start with waninkokos cios i only get a black screen. Is there a problem with starting games not from first partition with waninkokos ios?
     
  9. wiimanizer

    Member wiimanizer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Ima Poopin
    Country:
    United States
    does it work on a 4.2U wii?
     
  10. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I Don't Know Pal Sorry [​IMG]

    What I do Reccomend is to Downgrade your Wii to 3.2 as it will be More Compatible with Homebrew and alot less Messing about [​IMG]

    BTW Thank-you guys for Correcting me along the Way as it's my First Guide and it was late at night [​IMG]

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  11. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try getting the PAL Version of the Game plus I had the EXACT Problem as you. Also try Burning to Disc [​IMG]
     
  12. wishmasterf

    Member wishmasterf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria

    Do you use PAl-Version with Pal-Wii on third usb-partition?
     
  13. wiimanizer

    Member wiimanizer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Ima Poopin
    Country:
    United States
    ok, well..i just did the things from the instructions on the 1st post and im on FW 4.2U and it works fine, no downgrading needed!
     
  14. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use a PAL Version of the Game on a PAL Wii and am Using Disc, Have always Used Disc and had No problems [​IMG]

    Surely you can spend a Tenner and buy a 50 Pack of DVD -Rs?
     
  15. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use a PAL Version of the Game on a PAL Wii and am Using Disc, Have always Used Disc and had No problems [​IMG]

    Surely you can spend a Tenner and buy a 50 Pack of DVD -Rs?

    BTW Can anybody try and get this working so you can also get WAD Manager Working :S as In the guide I/we install IOS 37 but WAD Manager needs IOS 38? Any Alternitive?
     
  16. lowjeep

    Newcomer lowjeep Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks.
     
  17. Inu268

    Member Inu268 woof

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,728
    Location:
    right here
    Country:
    Brazil
    done everything it says to and the game still freezes after the capcom logo and says the disc could not be read
     
  18. Inu268

    Member Inu268 woof

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,728
    Location:
    right here
    Country:
    Brazil
    can somebody please help me here?
    got the cios rev 19 installed on base 37, using neo gamma r9 and the game crashes at the intro...
     
  19. testatura

    Member testatura GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    probably at work...
    Country:
    Croatia
    try with softchip,I also had no luck with gamma
    ..edit: I used r99 all setings disabled, ecxept third one from the bottom and last one.. ios to use 249
     
  20. erolz

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    can i also do this offline? wich wad do i need then?
     

Share This Page