Hacking Wii hang in sub menu system settings - HELP NEEDED

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
Hello every one,

I have a 4.1E using waninkoko 4.0 and later 4.1 (originaly 3.1U) all hacked during the past two years with waninkoko stuff no others. I installed waninkoko rev 10 to 14. Lately, i installed 222 and 223 to play with microphone and updated preloader to .30 and bootmii as IOS and boot2 to latest to make new nand backup as far as I lost the old one. All is OK.

I wanted to sell my wii. When i want to go system menu settings (working background music music and every thing) i have like 10 sec. After that the wiimote shake (bzzzzt) and i cannot see the cursor anymore on the screen... the wiimote stays on but WII Hang (but background music still plays - do not stop) ! if i am fast enough, the settings are saved.

What should i do to correct this problem ? reinstall 4.1E ? (from waninkoko safe update ? from wad ?)
Any advice ?

thanks frenchderf
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
This is a real pain you experiencing with your Wii(s).

This sounds like a semi brick to me.

Probably the best way would be to remove all homebrew(virginize it) and format it afterwards. Then start over again or sell it as unhacked Wii...
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
If i remove the SD card from the begining, Same problem except that i got once black screen entering the sub menu (semibrick symptoms). Same for the rest of time.

Revirginize wii isn't too risky ?

What if it reinstall only IOS 60 and system menu from wads given by zektor guide last steps (4.1 downgrade) ?

What if i safeupdate 4.2 anf downgrade 4.1 ?

What if i downgrade 3.3 from anyregion changer ?

Thank you
 

vinzanity

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
153
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
588
Country
here's what i recommend for you to do bro. Use this "Revirginize" to 4.2U guide.click here

But do this first:
1. Install Bootmii as boot2 if haven't already. Make a nand backup if possible (Just to be sure).
2. Install the lates JODI HBC if you haven't yet.
3. Install CIOS249 Rev14 or 15, Hermes 222/223.

Then follow the guide except:
Steps 6, 7 and 8.

afterwards run Trucha Bug restorer to Trucha IOS36, DOP-IOS IOS70.

Install Preloader or StartPatch if you like.
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
vinzanity said:
here's what i recommend for you to do bro. Use this "Revirginize" to 4.2U guide.click here

But do this first:
1. Install Bootmii as boot2 if haven't already. Make a nand backup if possible (Just to be sure).
2. Install the lates JODI HBC if you haven't yet.
3. Install CIOS249 Rev14 or 15, Hermes 222/223.

Then follow the guide except:
Steps 6, 7 and 8.

afterwards run Trucha Bug restorer to Trucha IOS36, DOP-IOS IOS70.

Install Preloader or StartPatch if you like.
huh???
blink.gif
you are recommending him to revirginize right? then why are you recommending to reinstall HBC, cios, and other softmod stuff then revirginize afterwards?
blink.gif
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
So you say that i should Dop Ios Mod system menu.

After all the only two that could be suspected are hermes 222 and 223 or Preloader .30
I read that preloader is creating problem with SDHC card. I verified so by going to saves from wii menu settings (no hang at all) but SDHC is not reconized.

I have a nand backup of my install five days old.

So I am thinking of going to preloader .29 Jodi first and see what i get.
Then, if having trouble, Dop IOS system menu 4.1E.
Then I will go to preloader .29 again and check. If every thing back to normal... I will skip .30 preloader and stay preloader .29 Jodi

I will not go to 4.2 and i am affraid to go to Priiloader as far it is still in beta and quite new.

For Bootmii as boot2 and IOS i use directly the one from Hackmii. Is the Jodi one any better ?

Thank you all
Frenchderf
 

zidewinder

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
frenchderf said:
So you say that i should Dop Ios Mod system menu.

It looks like we had the same problem.

EDIT:
Wii settings freezes after a time.
Wii cannot read my sdhc card, but homebrew channel can do it.

I had preloader 0.29 before and when i installed the new Wii menu it disapered. Now i have preloader 0.30 and everything is working.
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
Dear all,

I finaly jumped in.
Following Zidewinder, i did reinstall IOS 60 with
IOS60-64-v6174.wad
and system menu with
System Menu-NUS-v450.wad
Both from Xzero guide downgrade
It works perfectly no more hang.... :-)
If i try to install preloader .29 jodi or Cred, i cannot because of no + or - options the text stop at if you do not agree switch off the wii.
If i install preloader .30 same problem back again... :-(

When i reinstall menu from wad again. OK again, no more hang.
I tried to understand why i was not able to get .29 to install and saw that in homebrewchannel, IOS 61 v19.26 is selected (when you press home in HBC)

Is should be IOS60 - even it loads IOS 249, isn't it ?

Well, all is working by now. So i await your advice for this IOS61 in homebrew
so i can get preloader back.

I will not play around with the wii meanwhile. I just wait for your kind advice.

Thank you all !

Frenchderf
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
After all this reading last night, these are my plans for tonight.

1 Dop-IOS Mod v8 for IOS 60 all 3 submenus to YES (restore trutcha bud in IOS 60)

I can do it from IOS 249, right ? No need to install and restore IOS 15 ?

This IOS 60 (IOS60-64-v6174.wad) from zektor is already trucha sign ? but it will not be a problem to reinstall this IOS again...

2 Dop-IOS Mod v8 for IOS 61 original so all 3 submenus to NO

3 what about waninkoko rev 10 affecting IOS 36 ? Should I restore IOS 36 original or stick with the Waninkoko

I did not install other IOS on this wii (no CIOS corp) or whatsoever so

Preloader problem would come from IOS 61 to be there ? or from the association of IOS 36rev10 waninkoko, IOS 60, IOS 61 and 249 + 222, 223.
To my point of view it is from IOS 61. so il leave the others untouched.

4 Preloader .29 jodi or cred ? What is the differnce ?

If all working stick there. if not go to preloader .30 rev4...

Frenchderf
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
Well Hello again all !

I tried Dop-IOS Mod V8 as told before (IOS 249 to install)

1 - DopIOS 60 will not let me do so because detected same version with the one from Dop-IOS

I decided to leave it that way because i thought that IOS 61 was faulty with preloader .30

2 - DopIOS 61 so replace v19.26 with v.20.19 when SIG Hash choice "B" so installed correctly.

Back in homebrew channel, check version "homebrew channel is under IOS 61 v20.19" !

3 - Tried to install preloader .29 but i have no option to install it again :-(
4 - Install preloader .30 OK but the hang in system menu is back again !

As far as i do not need to access to system menu, i leave it under the protection of preloader .30

Any suggestion for the IOS 60 ? wich is the one in cause with system menu hang....
Preloader patch IOS 60 upon installation... So the problem is appering at that time.

If i reinstall menu only, it is enough to uninstall preloader.30 (When i reinstalled menu from wad again. OK again, no more hang.)

THE HANG IN SYSTEM MENU IS CAUSED BY Preloader .30 + IOS60-64-v6174

My question are
- why Homebrew channel loads IOS61 v20.19 ?
- Should I install IOS 60 from another source ? Which one ?
- why preloader .29 is not possible to install ?


Thank you for your help

Frenchderf
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
6,312
Trophies
2
XP
5,202
Country
United Kingdom
frenchderf said:
I wanted to sell my wii. When i want to go system menu settings (working background music music and every thing) i have like 10 sec. After that the wiimote shake (bzzzzt) and i cannot see the cursor anymore on the screen... the wiimote stays on but WII Hang (but background music still plays - do not stop) ! if i am fast enough, the settings are saved.

Update to 4.2 online and then sell the wii, sorted.
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
No i did not install any themes.

And finaly i do not want to sell my wii anymore.

So 4.2 is not an option anymore...

Well any other suggestions ?

Thanks to all

Frenchderf
 

frenchderf

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
62
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
Belgium
Thank you,

I will stay 4.1 for the time being.
I was searching for the cause of this problem and the cure...

I will wait for preloader update then...

Sincerely
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zsbXosf5FM