Wii Fit PAL not working on NTSC-U

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by karyuudo, Apr 26, 2008.

Apr 26, 2008
  1. karyuudo
    OP

    Newcomer karyuudo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried getting Wii Fit PAL release working on my NTSC-U console, and after the Wii menu screen it just goes black. Anyone else having this problem too? And yes I do have a balance board since I bought the Japanese release of it.
     


  2. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not an expert but are your wii modded?
     
  3. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use FreeLoader ... it does more than just make your Wii temporarily region-free [​IMG]
     
  4. go ghe

    Newcomer go ghe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    Hello all,
    Wii Fit Pal original asks my NTSC-US wiikey clone modded to update, is it safe to do so?
    I also tried with Freeloader but the Wii Fit game disc wasn't recognized on Wii
    Thanks for any help
     
  5. ri4z

    Newcomer ri4z Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No - you will get double channels if you update.

    Freeloader worked for me, though I did get disc not recognized on one occasion.

    I suggest you try again.

    FYI - I have wiikey 1.9s, NTSC-U wii 3.2U and got PAL wii fit working with Freeloader

    Thanks
     
  6. psykotik

    Newcomer psykotik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brunei
    i'm assuming you'll have to use freeloader everytime you want to play the PAL game on NTSC systems, right?

    would brickblocking the pal iso work? (so that i dont have to use freeloader)

    or is freeloader the only way to make the game play on NTSC?
     
  7. karyuudo
    OP

    Newcomer karyuudo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Of course ;-)
     
  8. karyuudo
    OP

    Newcomer karyuudo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Tried Brickblocking and it didn't work. I guess I'll need to use Freeloader or wait until the NTSC version comes out.
     
  9. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use FreeLoader ... it has run stuff for me that BrickBlock didn't work with ...
     
  10. boobooman

    Newcomer boobooman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Silly question but what update is on the disc as i had no update on my pal wii?
     
  11. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Silly question 2: what the point having Wii fit game - if you don't have the fitness board?
     
  12. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can still do a couple of the activities ... jogging, for instance.
     
  13. go ghe

    Newcomer go ghe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    Hi guys, my Wii Fit Pal original on my wii NTSC-US 3.2U wiikey clone modded still doesn't work [​IMG]

    I'd like to let u know what I've done until now

    1. Insert original Wii Fit game, it asks to update: I didn't do this (does this update contain IOS37 ?)
    2. Freeloader single and double swap before inserting the Wii Fit original: Wii didn't recognized the disc
    3. Insert a back up Wii Fit JAP patched with:
    3.1. WuM to remove the update
    3.2. WuM to change to 3.2U update
    --> Wii didn't recognized the disc
    4. Freeloader single swap then Wii Fit JAP: Wii didn't recognized the disc (A Wii Fit JAP back up asked also to update)
    5. Insert a Family Ski back up after removing 001 error: game plays well but I can't sync the Wii Balance Board (is Wii Fit the only game to sync the Wii Balance Board ?)

    Hope that you can help. Thanks guys
     
  14. psykotik

    Newcomer psykotik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brunei
    hope someone can spell it out for me:

    ok so assuming that i already have freeloader and wiifit burnt onto disc, what exactly do i have to do?


    1. insert freeloader, wait for it to flash twice or whatever
    2. eject freeloader
    3. insert wii fit
    4. it will ask for update? and i should let it update?
    5. then i eject and put freeloader back in?
    6. wait for freeloader to flash twice again?
    7. eject freeloader and put in wii fit?
    8. wii fit loads up and i can finally play??????


    is that how it will be like? (sorry, never used freeloader or PAL region games with updates on my NTSC wii before!)
     
  15. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    freeloader blocks the update
     
  16. go ghe

    Newcomer go ghe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    France
    @psykotik
    normally Freeloader must block the update.
    But as I wrote above, when I tried it, the disc wasn't recognized on the Disc Channel and any disc you put from that moment can't be recognized, it seems the Wii drive stops reading, I can't hear any noise.

    Must I have to accept the update at the end? how about the 001 error?

    I'm so disapponted to have the balance but impossble to play
     
  17. psykotik

    Newcomer psykotik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brunei
    ok i'll have to try it out myself then.

    my assumptions above are based on what this guy says in the video on his site:

    http://www.nintencast.com/feature.php?suba...mp;ucat=22&

    (for games with updates on them. i might have misinterpreted though!)

    but as long as wii fit PAL will work on NTSC wiis (via freeloader), then hooray!

    im planning to buy the japanese wii fit and use the balance board with the PAL wii fit (at least until NTSC wii fit is out and then i'll just be using the board with the NTSC wii fit!)
     
  18. psykotik

    Newcomer psykotik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brunei
     
  19. ri4z

    Newcomer ri4z Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, my experience with this, as already mentioned I have NTSC-U Wii, v3.2U, Wiikey 1.9s.

    (1) Inserted PAL Wii Fit, it asked to update. I thought I'd set the wiikey to block updates via the config disc (but didn't set dev to YES) so it updated..
    (2) Now had dual channels
    (3) Removed channels using channel remover v2
    (4) Burnt a cracked copy of freeloader
    (5) Run freeloader, insert Wii Fit and presto it works...

    Also tried a backup copy of wii fit with regionfrii and brickblocker but no luck with that.
     
  20. psykotik

    Newcomer psykotik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brunei

    i have the exact same setup as you do.

    one question, after you ran the update, got the dual channels and deleted the channels...., was your wii still under 3.2U? or does it become 3.2E? any other problems besides dual channels?
     

Share This Page