Wii compatibility with WD TV Live Hub 1TB

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Caliryder209, Nov 29, 2010.

Nov 29, 2010
  1. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I have a complicated situation to which I hope someone can provide a solution to, but since it is one that is unique, I doubt I will get very many answers, so ANY help will be much appreciated. Ok, I'm planning on getting a WD TV Live Hub 1 TB for its intended reasons (watching videos, listening to music, viewing pictures) and also its potential to function as an external HDD; one I hope I can connect to my Wii and play ISO's from. Hopefully someone who owns both a Wii and/or WD TV Live Hub 1TB (or anyone else for that matter) can answer these questions:

    1. What format is the WD TV Live Hub's HDD in?
    2. If it's in either NFTS or FAT32, can it be reformatted to HFS+ on PC running Vista?
    3. Does the Wii really support HFS+ formatted hard drives?
    4. Can a USB loader application load ISO's from a device that is connected to a USB Wii LAN adapter via Ethernet?

    I know all this might sound kinda stupid, but I can't find answers to any of these anywhere. Thanks for any and all help.
     
  2. dajavax

    Member dajavax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Monterrey
    Country:
    Mexico
    1. i really don't know... probably FAT or NTFS as that's what the WD TV HD reads (that's what i own)
    2. i doubt it can be reformatted to HFS+, and even harder to do that with a Windows machine..
    3. no it doesn't
    4. no it can't
     
  3. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    I personally own the plain WDTV and i say even if it doesnt allow using it in any way with the wii, its still a great little beast. I expect this model you are looking at is equally kickass, and i would recommend buying it. WD has used an open source firmware, and hacked/custom firmware is readily available, and easy to flash adding more functionality.

    1. the WD TV uses a linux kernel, so its native filesystem is ext. however, i believe if you are able to use the WDTV Live as an extarnal HDD, i suspect that it will come formatted with NTFS. WD will most likely put a filesystem on it that most users will be able to use. It definitely wont be FAT32, as a 1TB FAT32 partition take ages to even load on windows.

    2. i dont think vista can create a HFS+ partition by default. it only allows creating FAT, exFAT, and NTFS without extra software.

    3. The wii itself doesnt support any filesystems. Filesystem support is either compiled into a program or supplied by cIOS. All official programs only support FAT and SD. Most homebrew uses libfat, so it supports the popular FAT variants. And certain homebrew supports NTFS by using the libntfs port. And dimok is working on a ext library. Now wiixplorer is able to read/write to ext2/3/4. Ive not heard of any other popular filesystems being supported by any wii homebrew

    4. Possible, yes. But it has not been included in any publicly available loaders. It IS supported in teh WODE. LAN is working now, and WiFi is working, but still only in beta stages.
     
  4. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the quick reply. Yea, I guess the HDD being pre-formatted as NTFS makes sense. But you mention software being able to create an HFS+ partition on Vista. Know any good software that does that? It'll be a real shame if I couldn't get the HDD re-formatted as HFS+, even if I can't connect it to my Wii. You see, I have some VERY large Blu Ray quality .MKV and .M2TS video files on my PC (all 7 GB+) that I'd want to transfer to the WD TV Live Hub through networking once I get it. But NTFS has a file size limit of 4GB, so I'll have to break up the movies into parts, which would really suck. That's all if it even functions as an external HDD as you mentioned. There's still the possibility that it won't (I mean, it only has the ports for the "A" end of a USB cable). Then I wouldn't have a reason to even buy it in the first place. Let's just hope it does though .And as for loading ISO's from it (in the case it works as an HFS+ external HDD) through the USB LAN adapter, the only available loader is that pricey WODE thing, right? Damn...
     
  5. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    are you high? NTFS doesnt have a 4GB/file limet.
     
  6. Caliryder209
    OP

    Newcomer Caliryder209 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    ...Shit, I guess that was pretty stupid. My mistake, it doesn't. I was confused with FAT32.
     
  7. BBarry

    Newcomer BBarry Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Its format is FAT32.I don't know if it can be reformatted to NTFS. I do know their is a size restriction on ISO files on this device with FAT32.
     

Share This Page