Why no virtual memory?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Tom, Jul 23, 2011.

Jul 23, 2011

Why no virtual memory? by Tom at 5:56 AM (832 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Tom
    OP

    Member Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Why no virtual memory?,for those of you that don't know Virtual memory or VM creates more ram for a device by creating a swapfile on the hdd.I realize it does shorten the life of the flash memory but still, never ending purposes for homebrew.The dsl and ds have only 4mb of ram and the dsi has 16mb, 100mb could make a real difference.
     
  2. tomrev

    Member tomrev GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    United States
    ฺBecause it doesn't work. Virtual Memory need a background service to handling that need processing and memory usage.
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some homebrew programs take advantage of GBA flash carts (and I guess some of the enhanced DS cards do the same thing). Moonshell I believe did have a cache file on the disk for just this purpose but in general the combined throughput of the DS flash carts and microSD is not enough to warrant the effort and far more gains can be had doing conventional file grabs to stick in ram.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It lacks an MMU, so like Fast said support for alternative stuff has to be specifically built into a program.
     

Share This Page