1. Aretasya

    OP Aretasya Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Macau
    I'm not talking about emulation, but just to do some reverse engineering, and to get the original code, then to compile it on x86 architecture. Why it's not possible ?
     
  2. Pacheko17

    Pacheko17 Controversial opinions guy.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,480
    Country:
    Brazil
    Because it's not that easy to reverse engineer a game.
     
  3. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Cubi: Pride Imp!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,917
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Because it's not that easy. Reverse engineering isn't a simple task and hackers only have so much access and responses. I mean, it took 20 years to crack the Sega Saturn. This stuff isn't something that happens over night and often times isn't worth the effort to get so little out of it.
     
  4. Arras

    Arras GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6,303
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Even if they DID have the source code, porting a game to a different platform isn't nearly as easy as having the source code and pressing the "compile to pc" button. Especially for PC, considering all the different hardware setups.
     
  5. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,064
    Country:
    Japan
    Let's flip the question - why do you think it's possible?
     
    Lilith Valentine likes this.
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Like people can just flip Bloodborne into a .exe file and it works aight?

    No, it's MUCH harder than that.
     
  7. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    it takes a team and weeks\months to "make a port" even with the source code and another team for testing etc..
    and you can see how ports are incredible shit full of problems when even the company makes them...

    building a port is an enormous shit of work only to benefit from "happy gamers" while companies make "barely working" ports and charge 50 bucks each digital copy...
     
  8. sarkwalvein

    sarkwalvein There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8,132
    Country:
    Germany
    This. I am really interested in the answer to this question.
     
  9. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    Like arkham knight? That game seems to only run decent if you have a high end cpu and a gtx 980 or better. That and the last update that was put out fixed up a good portion of those awful glitches. But either way, still a shit port to PC from ps4.
     
  10. BlueFox gui

    BlueFox gui SOMEONE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,900
    Country:
    Brazil
    it's not some hacker magic, it takes a very long time depending what game you want
     
    Alkéryn likes this.
  11. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    wish is funny because they are both the same architecture (x86)
     
  12. flame1234

    flame1234 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    734
    Country:
    United States
    migles likes this.
  13. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,710
    Country:
    United States
    I mean IN THEORY you could make something that abuses the x86 architecture of the PlayStation 4 and XBox One to create a hypervisor. You would either need to modify the code with some sort of JIT or catch the many exceptions it would raise to make it able to use the different hardware on the PC.

    Then to get the software on the PC you could create a disk drive that has the specialized drives that the consoles use. The main issue with this is what prevents people from using those drives to copy the games? What prevents people from making a fake driver? From patching the runtime? Piracy becomes much easier because the host PC has access to all of the virtualized memory.

    Still, probably a solid amount of man hours needed to do something like this. Even for Sony or Microsoft who have the full specifications of the consoles.

    One way to do it, of course the other way would be for the developers to make the games in such a way that you could "plug and play" with different engine components for PC and console.

    I am also interested in why you thought this was an easy task with just the binaries of the game.
     
  14. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Direct console to PC ports tend to always be horribly optimized for the PC. See Watch_Dogs and GTA IV.
     
  15. RevPokemon

    RevPokemon GBATemp's 3rd Favorite Transgirl
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    4,840
    Country:
    United States
    Also a point to add is that projects is the issue of financing the process which can take a long time for little/no pay.

    EDIT: Consider asking your self why don't all japan only games have English patches? Same reason more or less
     
    Last edited by RevPokemon, Feb 9, 2017
  16. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Watch Dogs was a console to PC port? I had no problems playing it. But yeah GTA IV is a horrid mess.
     
  17. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. AMD users specifically suffered greatly. Ubisoft also purposely degraded the quality of textures in the game, and using the proper textures requires(ed) some hacky shit to "unlock". Someone on Reddit found this out shortly after release, and released a collection of proper texture files for the game that didn't have Ubisoft's disabled parameters. I wish I could find the post, but that was quite a while back in Internet time.

    Edit: Here's a bit of light on the subject. http://www.kotaku.com.au/2014/06/see-watch-dogs-hidden-graphics-options-in-action/
     
    Last edited by Joom, Feb 9, 2017
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - hackers, export, games