Why do we need modchips?

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by miketh2005, Apr 4, 2009.

Apr 4, 2009

Why do we need modchips? by miketh2005 at 7:23 PM (2,742 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    I'm wondering why we even need mod chips or AR / gamesharks? If you make a copy of Twilight Princess for the gamecube and try to play the copy on the gamecube, i'm guessing it wont work, although i never tried it. Why is that? Something on the CD itself that the gamecube has to sense? if so, why cant someone come up with something that puts that on the CD. how do publishers do it? any info would be much obliged. ty
     


  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
  3. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    so why cant someone invent a YAG laser for personal use?
     
  4. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Know what a YAG laser is actually like?.....we use one form of them in one of the clinics to laser the capsule of peoples eyes....the lasers themselves take up virtually half a room and require the use of eye shields....and you expect some "home brewer" to rustle one up to pirate video games?
     
  5. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    what about ps1, ps2, xbox? can i burn them like normal and it will play? or do they have anti-copyright too? im guessing ps2 and xbox do, but not sure bout ps1...
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a Dreamcast?
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    No they all have some kinda copy protection built in or stamped into the disk in the production process (retail disks are not burned they are stamped)

    Notably here the PS1 and PS2 disks ... in the case of modchips they replace the unburnable elusive track 1 of these disks by injecting this protection code over and over and over into the console to fool it into thinking this elusive track one is on the disk thus allowing the game to boot .... modchips in this case also bypass the regional protection issues too as this data is also injected into the console at the same time [​IMG]

    With PS2 disks and using FMCboot or ESR/MEMOR32 method ... the disks are patched to fool the console into thinking its booting a DVD disk and not a game so boots the game up like a dvd movie and bypasses the protection this way with the mem card booting the exploit code into the console from the hacked mem card ...It does this by booting first when the console starts it checks the mem card from the start up [​IMG]

    Mod chips tend to be a better more reliable way of booting backups they do not have to be patched or hacked (the iso/disk) as the chip does all the hard work once fitted of what to do with said backup/iso's ... they are also less susceptible to console/game firmware updates killing the actual hardware mod ....example here being the Wii new updates usually are designed to kill off or wipe any soft mods!
     
  8. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    so why can retail games stamp their games and we cant? can you only get it from nintendo(or sony, microsoft) or something?
     
  9. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    because master moulds cost around $100,000 to produce, it is a slow process requiring very expensive equipment and trained operators, not to mention a class 1 clean room that is cleaner than an operating theatre.
     
  10. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    wow, are PC retail games stamped, too, or burned?
     
  11. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all commercial CDs are stamped, well nearly all anyway.
     
  12. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    music / software, too?
     
  13. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    ok, lets say i had 500K to start a publishing business, how would i go about doing so, getting the equipment and such? i cant find any info about stamping games on google, at all...
     
  14. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    doubtful that even 500k would be enough your probably talking a few million if not more!


    heres basically how its all done for commercial cd's/dvd's for all purposes!

     
  15. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    wow, thanks for the info dude! i wonder if there are smaller versions of that, if i were to start up a small publishing company, i wouldnt need to produce over 100K a day! lol...

    if anyone could provide me with a website for info about the machines (about where to buy and everything) ill pay 10$ via paypal!
     
  16. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, I know some small indy type music labels will just use CD duplicator robots, which basically automate burning a few hundred CDs, these can then be printed or have some half professional looking finish applied to them. larger record labels will just outsource their CD production to a specialist company. only massive megacorps like sony own their own production plants.
     
  17. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Things may have changed since I looked into duplication for a project we were doing in my previous job, but I seem to recall that using a glass master is cheaper per unit in the long run for large runs, but a CD-R/DVD-R master makes more sense for smaller runs.
     
  18. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, i know some of those, like 1K, not bad, but what i want is when people get my DVD, they will not complain and say its not professional...
     
  19. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, some CDs can be directly printed on, and you could look into light scribe, both look quite professional.
     
  20. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I have Lightscribe and I'm very happy with it [​IMG]
    Only downside its in black and white
     

Share This Page