Which IOS to patch for NSMB?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Nitro187, Jan 19, 2011.

Jan 19, 2011

Which IOS to patch for NSMB? by Nitro187 at 8:28 PM (1,735 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Nitro187
    OP

    Newcomer Nitro187 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Cameroon
    I want to play some modified NSMB games on my wii... I have a wode, but was told I must trucha patch one of my IOS's in order for it to work. I don't want to patch ALL of them, but would like to patch the one used for NSMB. Does anyone know? And is there a home brew utility that will allow me to select which ones to patch, and possibly 'unpatch' ones if I'd like to restore? or do I just use bootmii to restore?

    Thanks! Wish I didn't have to patch at all... but i'm really interested in playing these.
     
  2. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    You don't actually patch an ios. Nsmb wii, added a new type of protection called bca. This link should get you started in the right direction [​IMG]

    -Erik

    Edit: I missed the modified part of the post, sorry... See post below...
     
  3. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do u mean a modified iso or do you wish to play the Riivolution mods? do you have the original nsmb backed up? if that worked then the mod-isos will too. Riivolution is something else though you'll need to look that up
     
  4. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Assuming that you have an ISO of the a modified version:

    1) Use DOP-Mii with the latest HBC (1.0.8) and with IOS58, also choose IOS58 when it asks what IOS to use.
    2) You'll need to patch IOS53 with the Trucha-Bug.

    Backup your NAND with BootMii, just to be shure.
     
  5. Nitro187
    OP

    Newcomer Nitro187 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Cameroon
    Ok, I did that... trucha patched ios 53, as well as the other two things (identity, etc) and it still won't launch the custom NSMB game.... "An error has occured" happens when I launch the custom game. (but not when I run the un-edited NSMB)

    Any ideas?
     
  6. Nitro187
    OP

    Newcomer Nitro187 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Cameroon
    Anyone?
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Use Multi-Mod Manager to patch IOS53 and whatever IOS your system menu uses (3.2-3.4 = IOS30, 4.0/4.1= IOS60, 4.2=IOS70, 4.3=IOS80).
     
  8. Nitro187
    OP

    Newcomer Nitro187 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Cameroon
    Ok, got a bit further... did that... and now, when I try to launch the game... instead of "an error has occured" the system just says the disk in the disk channel is unrecognized.

    Any ideas? I don't get why this is so problematic...
     
  9. codmaster

    Member codmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    To simply get NSMBW working backup,First you need a patched .iso
    Now install cIOS 249 rev 14,then launch and it should work!
     
  10. Nitro187
    OP

    Newcomer Nitro187 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Cameroon
    Will Multi-Mod Manager allow me to install cIOS 249?
     
  11. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    He's using wode, he doesn't need cIOS to play the game. (And certainly not 14.)
     
  12. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what you need is nsmbxy.zip, wiiscrubber, PPF-O-Matic, then read up on the stuff and follow instructions

    or

    "pre patched nsmb wii" and google
     
  13. icecold

    Newcomer icecold Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Sweden

Share This Page