where to buy RPG?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by lafleche, Aug 14, 2008.

Aug 14, 2008

where to buy RPG? by lafleche at 9:11 PM (1,819 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. lafleche
    OP

    Member lafleche GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    Netherlands
    As in topic.
    Now that the 8mbit save (or byte or whatever [​IMG] ) has been solved it looks like it's time to dump my R4 and CycloDS (what a waste of money was THAT) and buy a RPG.
    It just seems to be the best card at this moment (no speed problems with NAND).

    Problem is that I only find the Acekard2 on sale.... so... where to buy the RPG.
     
  2. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
  3. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    What do you consider wrong with the Cyclo?
     
  4. skagamer

    Member skagamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Uh...who's having speed problems with R4 or CycloDS?
     
  5. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently he is. What's it to you?
     
  6. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    As previously said, at DealExtreme....but, what's wrong with CycloDS?!?!?!
    It is considered the best current cart on the market..(RPG is good, and open source is great to have, but still, it doesn't have half of features Cyclo does, plus Team Cyclops is really great from the start, not to mention that they really update their cart with new features ALL the time!)
     
  7. f3l1x

    Newcomer f3l1x Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
  8. skagamer

    Member skagamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    I've never seen reports of slowdowns on either cart. If he's experiencing problems with both, the issue most likely lies somewhere else(i.e. microSD).
     
  9. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    AK RPG looks kinda cool. Onboard memory...
     
  10. Chri5

    Member Chri5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    buit is onboard memory really worth 40 bucks... the acekard 2 is 20 bucks compare to its father for 65 bucks
     
  11. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Some people seem to think so, quite a few here own RPGs including myself. It's also open source, where the AK2 is not.
     
  12. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    What do you mean its open source?
     
  13. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    You can go to the Acekard site and retrieve the source code for the RPG loader.
     
  14. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the kit is also sweet if your are a developer. no more popping out the msd everytime you need to try a new build of your app, just load it to the onboard mem via the usb.

    -aw
     
  15. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    But you have to pop your rpg out. Well at least with my micro usb cable.

    But tbh, the 1gb of on board memory isn't as impressive as the features that the cyclo has.
     
  16. lafleche
    OP

    Member lafleche GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    Netherlands
    In reply to the question "why/what's wrong with R4 and CycloDS"
    - R4 is not supported anymore. Problems with newer games ...and so on....(I don't believe that 1.19 fw will ever surface)

    CycloDS is overrated ..yes...a lot of features I don't use but still issues with Castlevania (even with fast Japanese Kingston card) and slowdowns in Soccer Evolution and Tony Hawk, battery drainage (I did the test.... play with Cyclods until red light, change for R4 et voila.....green light)

    AceKard RPG solved speed issues when using NAND and even with new loader on TF. The features (which again I will not use) seems not to bad either... the main pupose for me for a flashcard is 'compatibility'....acekard seems to have the advantage.

    please correct me if I am wrong...
     
  17. ROM Troll

    Member ROM Troll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    In my two month experience with the AKRPG and limited play to 5% of available ROMs, LOL is the only one that has not worked; nothing happens beyond the main menu. Wall-E and some other ROMs did not work on the AK2 until Acekard released firmware to patch them. If networking is part of the compatibility you seek, the AKRPG and AK2 continue to have multi-card based multi-player issues that vary from ROM to ROM and firmware to firmware. And I've never seen a successful DS Download Play with either card.
     
  18. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    That's true. Imagine if the CycloDS had onboard memory. That would just be ownage.
     
  19. f3l1x

    Newcomer f3l1x Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I have an R4, ez flash V, a m3ds simply, m3ds real, cyclods, acekard2, and an acekard rpg. Id rate ds download compat the same between the dsreal, acekards, and cyclods. If you've never seen a successful ds download play with an acekard then im not sure you've tried. :-/ or is it like 1 or 2 obscure games that have the issue and your just exagerating a bit? I seriously cant tell. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page