Whats up with Youtube?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Njrg, Jun 24, 2010.

Jun 24, 2010

Whats up with Youtube? by Njrg at 2:01 PM (899 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Njrg
    OP

    Banned Njrg Kinsoku Jikou Desu. ^.~

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Country:
    United States
    How come many of the videos that were once supporting 480p only support 360 and 240?

    And whats with the 240p?

    Was the suck-quality not suck-enough or something?
     
  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    probably for low-bandwith users, I hate it though, mine always automaticly selects 240p and I get shit quality.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've always connected at 360p, even with the new change. I think that the 240p setting is mainly for smartphone users, who don't care for reduced quality when their screen is so small anyway. Noobtoob should have a news post somewhere explaining the change.
     
  4. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I always get the 480p version! [​IMG]
     
  5. tijntje_7

    Member tijntje_7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I was like o.0
    When I saw two topics about what's up with youtube [​IMG]
    And They were both about something else...
    But even I got a question about youtube, which is different.
    (btw, couldn't you configure @ what xxxxP the vid starts?)
    I was watching a vid (song actually [​IMG])
    And then there were a few options which weren't there before (afaik)
    I should've taken a print screen... But one of the buttons were gone after... something?
    It looked like a football (kinda?) and when I clicked it, my song went like reaaalllyyy weird [​IMG]
    Anyone else noticed moar buttons?
    Edit: [​IMG]
    Soooo... even though the football is explained two post under [​IMG]
    There are even moar buttons there which I've never seen :/
     
  6. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Get rid of the &fmt=18 at the end of your address and then look for the 480 option again.
     
  7. ByteMunch

    Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The noise you heard on the football button was Vuvuzelas.
     
  8. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    same [​IMG]
     
  9. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use firefox and download "youtube enhancer" greasemonkey userscript. it completely fixes it
     
  10. ByteMunch

    Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can change Video Quality settings in your account settings somewhere. I have mine set to Best [​IMG]
    EDIT:Okay, maybe not that good... But you can set it to HD on Fullscreen.
     
  11. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    YousableTubeFix is much easier on the eyes, it actually blends in with the page.

    http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/13333
     

Share This Page